October 8th, 2015
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
On The Hunt


On Top Shelf

Sign up for Fresh Press


Barnes & Noble






Buzz from Overnight

Books and Authors in National Media

Recent Events | Today's Events | Search Media Events

1 - 12 of 300 ( First | more )

Featured October 7, 2015
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

Lock & Mori Heather W. Petty

Lock & Mori
by Heather W. Petty

Buy Book

In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder will bring them together. The truth very well might drive them apart.

Before they were mortal enemies, they were much more…

FACT: Someone has been murdered in London’s Regent’s Park. The police have no leads.

FACT: Miss James “Mori” Moriarty and Sherlock “Lock” Holmes Read More »

Featured October 7, 2015
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

The Searcher Simon Toyne

The Searcher
by Simon Toyne

Buy Book

The author of the acclaimed Sanctus trilogy conjures an eerie epic of good and evil, retribution and redemption—the first novel in the mesmerizing Solomon Creed series in which a man with no memory of his past must save a lost soul in a small Arizona town. On a hilltop in the town of Redemption, Arizona, the townspeople gather at an old cemetery for the first time in decades to bury a local man. The Read More »

The fate of a small town rests in the hands of a man with no memory.

Featured October 7, 2015
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys April Genevieve Tucholke

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys
by April Genevieve Tucholke

Buy Book

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story and The Walking Dead comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA

A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh Read More »

Featured October 6, 2015
on Morning Edition

The Tsar of Love and Techno Anthony Marra

The Tsar of Love and Techno
by Anthony Marra

Buy Book

From the New York Times bestselling author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena—dazzling, poignant, and lyrical interwoven stories about family, sacrifice, the legacy of war, and the redemptive power of art.

This stunning, exquisitely written collection introduces a cast of remarkable characters whose lives intersect in ways both life-affirming and heartbreaking. A 1930s Soviet censor painstakingly corrects offending photographs, deep underneath Leningrad, bewitched by the Read More »

Featured October 6, 2015
on Morning Edition

Reckless Chrissie Hynde

by Chrissie Hynde

Buy Book

My Life as a Pretender

Chrissie Hynde, for nearly four decades the singer/songwriter/ undisputed leader of the Pretenders, is a justly legendary figure.

Few other rock stars have managed to combine her swagger, sexiness, stage presence, knack for putting words to music, gorgeous voice and just all-around kick-assedness into such a potent and alluring package. From “Tatooed Love Boys” and “Brass in Pocket” to “Talk of the Town” and “Back on the Chain Read More »

Featured October 6, 2015
on Fresh Air - NPR

Zahav Michael Solomonov

by Michael Solomonov

Buy Book

A World of Israeli Cooking

The James Beard Award–winning chef and co-owner of Philadelphia's Zahav restaurant reinterprets the glorious cuisine of Israel for American home kitchens. Ever since he opened Zahav in 2008, chef Michael Solomonov has been turning heads with his original interpretations of modern Israeli cuisine, attracting notice from the New York Times, Bon Appétit, ("an utter and total revelation"), and Eater ("Zahav defines Read More »

Featured October 6, 2015
on Diane Rehm Show - NPR

The Courage to Act Ben S. Bernanke

The Courage to Act
by Ben S. Bernanke

Buy Book

A Memoir of a Crisis and Its Aftermath

An unrivaled look at the fight to save the American economy. In 2006, Ben S. Bernanke was appointed chair of the Federal Reserve, the unexpected apex of a personal journey from small-town South Carolina to prestigious academic appointments and finally public service in Washington’s halls of power. There would be no time to celebrate. The bursting of a housing bubble in 2007 exposed the hidden vulnerabilities of the global financial system, bringing it Read More »

Featured October 5, 2015
on CBS This Morning

A Common Struggle Patrick J. Kennedy

A Common Struggle
by Patrick J. Kennedy

Buy Book

A Personal Journey Through the Past and Future of Mental Illness and Addiction

Patrick J. Kennedy, the former congressman and youngest child of Senator Ted Kennedy, details his personal and political battle with mental illness and addiction, exploring mental health care's history in the country alongside his and every family's private struggles.

On May 5, 2006, the New York Times ran two stories, “Patrick Kennedy Crashes Car into Capitol Barrier” and then, several hours later, “Patrick Kennedy Says He'll Read More »

Featured October 5, 2015
on Today

Mixed Me Taye Diggs

Mixed Me
by Taye Diggs

Buy Book

Mom and Dad say I'm a blend of dark and light:
"We mixed you perfectly, and got you just right."
Mike has awesome hair. He has LOTS of energy! His parents love him. And Mike is a PERFECT blend of the two of them. Still, Mike has to answer LOTS of questions about being mixed. And he does, with LOTS of energy and joy in this charming story about a day Read More »

Featured October 5, 2015
on Morning Edition

M Street Patti Smith

M Street
by Patti Smith

Buy Book

From the National Book Award–winning author of Just Kids: an unforgettable odyssey of a legendary artist, told through the prism of the cafés and haunts she has worked in around the world. It is a book Patti Smith has described as “a roadmap to my life.”

M Train begins in the tiny Greenwich Village café where Smith goes every morning for black coffee, ruminates on the world Read More »

Featured October 5, 2015
on All Things Considered

I'll Never Write My Memoirs Grace Jones

I'll Never Write My Memoirs
by Grace Jones

Buy Book

Legendary influential performer Grace Jones offers a revealing account of her spectacular career and turbulent life, charting the development of a persona that has made her one of the world’s most recognizable artists.

As a singer, model, and actress—a deluxe triple threat—Grace has consistently been an extreme, challenging presence in the entertainment world since her emergence as an international model in the 1970s. Celebrated for her audacious talent and trailblazing Read More »

Featured October 5, 2015
on Diane Rehm Show - NPR

The Secret Chord Geraldine Brooks

The Secret Chord
by Geraldine Brooks

Buy Book

A rich and utterly absorbing novel about the life of King David, from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of People of the Book and March. With more than two million copies of her novels sold, New York Times bestselling author Geraldine Brooks has achieved both popular and critical acclaim. Now, Brooks takes on one of literature’s richest and most enigmatic figures: a man who Read More »

1 - 12 of 300 ( First | more )

Fresh Press monitors more than 65 nationally broadcast television and radio programs and delivers a comprehensive listing of the books and authors featured in a daily newsletter. Sign up for Fresh Press by subscribing today.

Romance and thrills in October to read






© 2003-2015 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+