July 28th, 2015
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Spider's Trap

MEAN STREAKMEAN STREAK

On Top Shelf

Sign up for Fresh Press

 

Barnes & Noble

 

 

 

 

 

Buzz from Overnight

Books and Authors in National Media

Recent Events | Today's Events | Search Media Events


1 - 12 of 300 ( First | more )


Featured July 26, 2015
on CBS Sunday Morning

Masters of Sex Thomas Maier

Masters of Sex
by Thomas Maier

Buy Book

The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love

Now a New Showtime Original Series

Showtime's dramatic series Masters of Sex, starring Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan, is based on this real-life story of sex researchers William Masters and Virginia Johnson. Before Sex and the City and ViagraTM, America relied on Masters and Johnson to teach us everything we needed to know about what goes on in the bedroom. Convincing hundreds of men and Read More »



Featured July 26, 2015
on CBS Sunday Morning

The Science Of Kissing Sheril Kirshenbaum

The Science Of Kissing
by Sheril Kirshenbaum

Buy Book

What Our Lips Are Telling Us

From a noted science journalist comes a wonderfully witty and fascinating exploration of how and why we kiss. When did humans begin to kiss? Why is kissing integral to some cultures and alien to others? Do good kissers make the best lovers? And is that expensive lip-plumping gloss worth it? Sheril Kirshenbaum, a biologist and science journalist, tackles these questions and more in THE SCIENCE OF KISSING. It's everything you always wanted to Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Between the World and Me Ta-Nehisi Coates

Between the World and Me
by Ta-Nehisi Coates

Buy Book

“This is your country, this is your world, this is your body, and you must find some way to live within the all of it.”
 
In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Morning Edition

Dust Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Dust
by Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

Buy Book

From a breathtaking new voice, a novel about a splintered family in Kenya—a story of power and deceit, unrequited love, survival and sacrifice. Odidi Oganda, running for his life, is gunned down in the streets of Nairobi. His grief-stricken sister, Ajany, just returned from Brazil, and their father bring his body back to their crumbling home in the Kenyan drylands, seeking some comfort and peace. But the murder has stirred memories long left Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Fresh Air - NPR

Among the Ten Thousand Things Julia Pierpont

Among the Ten Thousand Things
by Julia Pierpont

Buy Book

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.
 
Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on Fresh Air - NPR

Billy Bathgate E.L. Doctorow

Billy Bathgate
by E.L. Doctorow

Buy Book

To open this book is to enter the perilous, thrilling world of Billy Bathgate, the brazen boy who is accepted into the inner circle of the notorious Dutch Schultz gang. Like an urban Tom Sawyer, Billy takes us along on his fateful adventures as he becomes good-luck charm, apprentice, and finally protégé to one of the great murdering gangsters of the Depression-era underworld in New York City. The luminous transformation Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on The Chew

Roc and Roe's Twelve Days of Christmas

Roc and Roe's Twelve Days of Christmas
by Nick Cannon

Buy Book

Nick Cannon and Mariah Carey's twins, Roc and Roe, decorate their Christmas tree with their "pip" version of "The Twelve Days of Christmas." From an angel with sparkly, shiny wings to four skiing snowmen to twelve chugging choo-choos, Roc and Roe have a frolicking time getting ready for the holidays Read More »



Featured July 23, 2015
on The Chew

The Chew

The Chew
by The Chew

Buy Book

A Year of Celebrations - Festive and Delicious Recipes for Every Occasion

The five hosts of ABC's hit show The Chew invite you to celebrate a full year of holidays, events, and special occasions. From Thanksgiving to Mother's Day, and Christmas to the Fourth of July, Mario Batali, Carla Hall, Clinton Kelly, Daphne Oz, and Michael Symon are here to provide you with mouthwatering recipes, useful entertaining tips, and creative crafts to make your gatherings unforgettable, original, and manageable. In this third companion book, the Read More »



Featured July 22, 2015
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

Paper Towns John Green

Paper Towns
by John Green

Buy Book

When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night—dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q . . . until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues Read More »



Featured July 22, 2015
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

All Together Now Gill Hornby

All Together Now
by Gill Hornby

Buy Book

The small town of Bridgeford is in crisis. Downtown is deserted, businesses are closing, and the idea of civic pride seems old-fashioned to residents rushing through the streets to get somewhere else. Bridgeford seems to have lost its heart.

But there is one thing that just might unite the community--music. The local choir, a group generally either ignored or mocked by most of Bridgeford's inhabitants, is preparing for an important Read More »



Featured July 22, 2015
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

Sugar

Sugar
by Deirdre Riordan Hall

Buy Book

I’m the fat Puerto Rican–Polish girl who doesn’t feel like she belongs in her skin, or anywhere else for that matter. I’ve always been too much and yet not enough.

Sugar Legowski-Gracia wasn’t always fat, but fat is what she is now at age seventeen. Not as fat as her mama, who is so big she hasn’t gotten out of bed in months. Not Read More »



Featured July 22, 2015
on Morning Edition
Author Death

Andrew's Brain E.L. Doctorow

Andrew's Brain
by E.L. Doctorow

Buy Book

This brilliant new novel by an American master, the author of Ragtime, The Book of Daniel, Billy Bathgate, and The March, takes us on a radical trip into the mind of a man who, more than once in his life, has been the inadvertent agent of disaster.
 
Speaking from an unknown place and to an unknown interlocutor, Andrew is thinking, Andrew is talking, Andrew is telling the story Read More »




1 - 12 of 300 ( First | more )

Fresh Press monitors more than 65 nationally broadcast television and radio programs and delivers a comprehensive listing of the books and authors featured in a daily newsletter. Sign up for Fresh Press by subscribing today.


Celebrate Small Towns in July's books

 

 

 

 

 

© 2003-2015 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+