July 28th, 2014
Home | Log in! or Register

Fresh Fiction
Good Morning Texas
We Connect On
Todays_Pick
Fresh Pick
Grace Against The Clock
TWO WEEK SEDUCTIONTWO WEEK SEDUCTION
On Top Shelf
Sign up for Fresh Press
Bookmark and Share

 

 

 

 

 

Buzz from Overnight

Books and Authors in National Media

Recent Events | Today's Events | Search Media Events


1 - 12 of 300 ( First | more )


Featured July 25, 2014
on Morning Edition
Film version out with Philip Seymour Hoffman

A Most Wanted Man John Le Carre

A Most Wanted Man
by John Le Carre

Buy Book

This acclaimed bestselling novel about spies in “The War on Terror” is soon to be a major film starring Philip Seymour Hoffman, Rachel McAdams, Willem Dafoe, and Robin Wright. A half-starved young Russian man in a long black overcoat is smuggled into Hamburg at dead of night. He has an improbable amount of cash secreted in a purse around his neck. He is a devout Muslim. Or is he? He says his name is Read More »



Featured July 25, 2014
on Morning Edition
Self-publishing authors making money

Pennsylvania The Omnibus Michael Bunker

Pennsylvania The Omnibus
by Michael Bunker

Buy Book

Young Amishman Jedidiah Troyer is now a traveler. He's signed up for an emigration program that is colonizing the planet of New Pennsylvania. He just wants to start a farm and homestead on affordable land in a new Amish community. Space pioneering isn't as easy as it sounds when you're "plain." Jedidiah and his new friend Dawn arrive on New Pennsylvania in the middle of a rebel uprising, and TRACE, the resistance Read More »



Featured July 25, 2014
on Morning Edition
Self-publishing authors making money

Sand Hugh Howey

Sand
by Hugh Howey

Buy Book

no one will come for us. No one will save us. This is our life.

The old world is buried. A new one has been forged atop the shifting dunes. Here in this land of howling wind and infernal sand, four siblings find themselves scattered and lost. Their father was a sand diver, one of the elite few who could travel deep beneath the desert floor and bring up the relics and scraps that keep their people alive. But their father is gone. And the world he left behind might Read More »



Featured July 25, 2014
on All Things Considered

Second Person Singular Sayed Kashua

Second Person Singular
by Sayed Kashua

Buy Book

From one of the most important contemporary voices to emerge from the Middle East comes a gripping tale of love and betrayal, honesty and artifice, which asks whether it is possible to truly reinvent ourselves, to shed our old skin and start anew.

Second Person Singular follows two men, a successful Arab criminal attorney and a social worker-turned-artist, whose lives intersect under the most curious of circumstances. The lawyer Read More »



Featured July 25, 2014
on Dr. Oz

A Short Guide To A Long Life David B. Agus

A Short Guide To A Long Life
by David B. Agus

Buy Book

In his #1 New York Times bestselling book, The End of Illness, Dr. David B. Agus shared what he has learned from his work as a pioneering cancer doctor and researcher, revealing the innovative steps he takes to prolong the lives of not only cancer patients but all those hoping to enjoy a vigorous, lengthy life. Now Dr. Agus has turned his analysis into a practical and concise illus­trated handbook Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

The Vanishing Season Jodi Lynn Anderson

The Vanishing Season
by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Buy Book

From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes The Vanishing Season, at once haunting and lovely, with a gut-wrenching final twist that will keep readers on their toes. It's perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on News at 4: Wednesday Reads

Alias Hook Lisa Jensen

Alias Hook
by Lisa Jensen

Buy Book

"Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy."

Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on Today

Fifty Shades Of Grey E.L. James

Fifty Shades Of Grey
by E.L. James

Buy Book

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms. Shocked yet thrilled by Grey Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on Morning Edition

House Of Debt Amir Sufi

House Of Debt
by Amir Sufi, Atif Mian

Buy Book

How They (and You) Caused the Great Recession, and How We Can Prevent It from Happening Again

The Great American Recession resulted in the loss of eight million jobs between 2007 and 2009. More than four million homes were lost to foreclosures. Is it a coincidence that the United States witnessed a dramatic rise in household debt in the years before the recession—that the total amount of debt for American households doubled between 2000 and 2007 to $14 trillion? Definitely not. Armed with clear and powerful evidence, Atif Mian and Amir Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on Diane Rehm Show - NPR

It's Even Worse Than It Looks Thomas E. Mann

It's Even Worse Than It Looks
by Thomas E. Mann, Norman J. Ornstein, Thomas Mann

Buy Book

How the American Constitutional System Collided With the New Politics of Extremism

Congress’ approval ratings are at record lows, and both Democrats and Republicans are disgusted by the government’s inability to get anything done. In their New York Times bestseller, It’s Even Worse Than It Looks, Thomas Mann and Norman Ornstein present a grim picture of how personal pettiness has led the United States to the brink of institutional failure. The legislative process has been stuck in a grinding gridlock since Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on Diane Rehm Show - NPR

Michelangelo Miles J. Unger

Michelangelo
by Miles J. Unger

Buy Book

A Life in Six Masterpieces

The life of one of the most revolutionary artists in history, told through the story of six of his greatest masterpieces. Among the immortals—Leonardo, Rembrandt, Picasso—Michelangelo stands alone as a master of painting, sculpture, and architecture. He was not only the greatest artist in an age of giants, but a man who reinvented the practice of art itself. Throughout his long career he clashed with patrons by insisting that he had no master Read More »



Featured July 24, 2014
on The View

Fifty Shades Of Grey E.L. James

Fifty Shades Of Grey
by E.L. James

Buy Book

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms. Shocked yet thrilled by Grey Read More »




1 - 12 of 300 ( First | more )

Fresh Press monitors more than 65 nationally broadcast television and radio programs and delivers a comprehensive listing of the books and authors featured in a daily newsletter. Sign up for Fresh Press by subscribing today.


Hot romance, blistering suspense in July

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2003-2014 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Book Reviews Blog Directory Google+