June 24th, 2024
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
A GENTLEMAN IN SEARCH OF A WIFE
A GENTLEMAN IN SEARCH OF A WIFE

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Reader Games

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Neighborly Secrets. Deadly Desires.


slideshow image
A summer of friendship, forgiveness, and fresh starts.


slideshow image
Can a desire for revenge lead to redemption? Free!


slideshow image
Danger, wealth, revenge, power, and fear were all a part of his life.


slideshow image
How can they stay rivals when they're falling in love?


slideshow image
Wedding season includes searching for a missing bride�and a killer . . .



Kick off your summer Reads in June!


Barnes & Noble

Fresh Fiction Blog
Get to Know Your Favorite Authors

Christine Wells | The British Royal Family—Top Five Movies/Series


The Royal Windsor Secret
Christine Wells

AVAILABLE

Amazon

Kindle

Barnes & Noble

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop


September 2023
On Sale: September 12, 2023
352 pages
ISBN: 0063268248
EAN: 9780063268241
Kindle: B0BPSWYCCY
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Also by Christine Wells:
The Paris Gown, August 2024
The Royal Windsor Secret, September 2023
One Woman's War, October 2022
Sisters of the Resistance, June 2021

facebooktwitterpinterestInstagram

The King’s Speech

One of the most sensitive and intimate portrayals of any member of the British royal family on screen would have to be in The King’s Speech, directed by Tom Hooper. It starred Colin Firth, who won an Academy Award for his portrayal of George VI. A man who was never meant to be king, George VI had to step into the role when his elder brother, Edward VIII, abdicated the throne to marry the American divorcée, Wallis Simpson. George VI had a speech impediment, and the movie follows his struggles to overcome it with the help of an unconventional speech therapist, played by Geoffrey Rush—all of this accomplished with the shadow of World War II looming overhead.

 

The Crown

An epic, multi-layered series that explores the reign of Queen Elizabeth II from the time leading up to her ascension to the throne to present day. Claire Foy was magnificent as the young Queen Elizabeth, and the series offers insight into the human side of the royal family and the inner workings of Buckingham Palace—albeit one that is heavily fictionalized.

 

W.E.

W.E. looks at the British Royal Family through the eyes of Wallis Simpson, the American divorcée for whom King Edward VIII famously abdicated the throne. Perhaps Madonna showed her affinity with one of the most famous “Material Girls” of the twentieth century, Wallis Simpson, when she directed this movie. Wallis Simpson is one of the most divisive figures in history, reviled as a gold-digger, a Nazi sympathiser, and even a spy by some, romanticised as a star-crossed lover and helpless victim of the British establishment by others. Whatever the truth, Wallis was certainly the love of Edward’s life, as this intimate portrait of the couple shows.

 

Elizabeth

A brilliant performance from Cate Blanchette dominates this tour de force directed by Shekhar Kapur. The film portrays the early years of Queen Elizabeth I’s reign, weaving together political intrigue and personal struggles as she grew into her role as Queen and Emperor. The settings and costumes are lavish, the narrative gripping—altogether a must-see.

 

The Queen

Starring the brilliant Helen Mirren, The Queen is a biographical drama that focuses on the British Royal Family in the aftermath of Princess Diana’s death and the dilemma over how to respond to the overwhelming public grief over the loss of the “People’s Princess”­­­­. Mirren won an Academy Award for best actress for her portrayal of Queen Elizabeth II. In an interview, Mirren said that in preparing for the role, she grew to love the Queen. A precursor to The Crown, this movie gave us a rare glimpse into the imagined private emotions of the Windsors and the Queen in particular, as they struggled with one of the greatest public and personal crises of the Queen’s reign.

THE ROYAL WINDSOR SECRET by Christine Wells

The Royal Windsor Secret

Could she be the secret daughter of the Prince of Wales? In this dazzling novel by the author of Sisters of the Resistance, a young woman seeks to discover the truth about her mysterious past. Perfect for readers of Shana Abe, Bryn Turnbull, and Marie Benedict.

Cleo Davenport has heard the whispers: the murmured conversations that end abruptly the second she walks into a room. Told she was an orphan, she knows the rumor—that her father is none other than the Prince of Wales, heir to the British throne. And at her childhood home at Cairo’s Shepheard’s Hotel, where royals, rulers, and the wealthy live, they even called her “The Princess.”

But her life is turned upside down when she turns seventeen. Sent to London under the chaperonage of her very proper aunt, she’s told it’s time to learn manners and make her debut. But Cleo’s life can’t be confined to a ballroom. She longs for independence and a career as a jewelry designer for Cartier, but she cannot move forward until she finds out about her past.

Determined to unlock the truth, Cleo travels from London, back to Cairo, and then Paris, where her investigations take a shocking turn into the world of the Parisian demi-monde, and a high-class courtesan whose scandalous affair with the young Prince of Wales threatened to bring down the British monarchy long before anyone had heard of Wallis Simpson.

 

Women's Fiction Historical [William Morrow Paperbacks, On Sale: September 12, 2023, Paperback / e-Book, ISBN: 9780063268241 / ]

Buy THE ROYAL WINDSOR SECRETAmazon.com | Kindle | BN.com | Powell's Books | Books-A-Million | Indie BookShops | Ripped Bodice | Love's Sweet Arrow | Walmart.com | Target.com | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon FR

About Christine Wells

Christine Wells

Christine Wells writes historical fiction featuring strong, fascinating women. From early childhood, she drank in her father’s tales of kings and queens and epic struggles for power across the globe, and has been a keen student of history ever since. She began her first novel while working as a corporate lawyer, and has gone on to write about periods ranging from Georgian England to World War II France. She loves dogs, the beach and antiquing on Instagram and lives with her family in Brisbane, Australia.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | PINTEREST | INSTAGRAM

 

 

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: Christine Wells | The British Royal Family—Top Five Movies/Series

hii
(Vateeka Gupta 12:21pm October 8)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy