July 20th, 2024
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
THE LAST DRAGON KING
THE LAST DRAGON KING

New Books This Week

Reader Games

Video Book Club

Latest Articles

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Movie costumer Joey Jessop discovers a Hollywood diva's deadly secrets.


slideshow image
Intelligent. Kind. Must like children. Passable looks. A man of means. Must make us laugh . . .


slideshow image
She won�t quit until she gets justice.
He won�t stop until she�s safe.


slideshow image
Julia Vargas is a cop with a mission.


slideshow image
Every romance needs a bit of mischief. . .


slideshow image
Passion has its own demands...and love, its wondrous possibilities...



July's Best Reads: Dive into Summer's Hottest Page-Turners!


Barnes & Noble

Fresh Fiction Blog
Get to Know Your Favorite Authors

Jennifer Vido | Jen's Jewels Interview: DRESSING THE COUNTESS by Rachel Brimble


Dressing the Countess
Rachel Brimble

AVAILABLE

Kindle

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play


May 2024
On Sale: May 3, 2024
ISBN: 8988774450
EAN: 9798988774457
Kindle: B0CW1HFHB2
e-Book
Add to Wish List

Also by Rachel Brimble:
Dressing the Countess, May 2024
Trouble for the Leading Lady, March 2021
A Widow's Vow, September 2020
A Widow's Vow, September 2020

facebooktwittergoodreadsblogInstagram

Welcome to Jen's Jewels, where we dive into the glittering world of literature to uncover hidden gems and sparkling treasures. This week, we have the pleasure of delving into the enchanting realm of historical romance with acclaimed author Rachel Brimble, whose latest release, DRESSING THE COUNTESS, promises to whisk readers away to a captivating world of royal courts, forbidden love, and daring ambition. Join me as we embark on a journey through the opulent halls of Henlow House, where secrets abound, and hearts are destined to collide.

 

Jennifer Vido: Congratulations on your latest release! What inspired you to write DRESSING THE COUNTESS?

Rachel Brimble: The main inspiration with all my books lies in my obsession with history, especially the Victorian and Edwardian periods, but Dressing the Countess was an extra indulgence as it’s set in a royal court… albeit a fictional one! I am mad about British royalty, both past and present, so I loved writing this book from beginning to end.

The story itself was inspired by the amazing royal dresses I saw at an exhibition in Bath, England a few years ago – I was just waiting for the right heroine to come along…

 

Jen: The setting of Henlow House sounds captivating. Did you draw inspiration from any real-life locations or historical events?

Rachel: Yes! But only a little. Henlow House is very loosely based on Marlborough House during the late 1800s when the Prince and Princess of Wales lived there (later King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra). In fact, Alexandra is very much the inspiration behind Christina, my fictional Countess of Bath, too.

It had quite a reputation for being a party house which intrigued me – although I have toned that aspect down quite a bit in the book!

 

Jen: Rose Watson is a compelling protagonist. What personal qualities or experiences define Rose's character as she navigates her unexpected journey?

Rachel: Rose is gutsy, determined, hardworking and a real romantic at heart.

Her parents mean so much to her, but their expectations are beginning to feel more and more like chains stopping her from pursuing her design aspirations – when she makes up her mind to break free, she does it wholeheartedly. As she does everything in life.

 

Jen: Henry Ward is portrayed as a multifaceted character with undeniable charm. What initial impressions does he form of Rose, and in what ways do their similarities and differences contribute to their dynamic relationship?

Rachel: Henry is a bit of a ladies’ man when the book opens and so – at first – he is struck by her looks. However, it doesn’t take long until he notices her vulnerability, then her bravery. What joins them is the how their individual ambitions inspire the other to do better, be better. Rose is more guided by her brain, Henry more his heart. Yet, when they come together, they are a formidable team in life and work.

 

Jen: DRESSING THE COUNTESS explores themes of love, ambition, and trust. What message or takeaway do you hope readers will find in your book?

Rachel: I hope readers finish this book feeling uplifted and inspired to go after all they dream of, whatever is in their hearts – whatever that might be. Writing this book was such a joy because of the positivity and watch Rose and Henry conquer obstacles along the way in true pursuit of all they want.

 

Jen: As a writer, what do you find most challenging about crafting historical romance novels? And what do you find most rewarding?

Rachel: The initial plotting is always the most challenging to me, but I cannot just write and see what happens like many of my writer friends can! Dressing the Countess is my 29th book and when I sat down to start sketching out my plot, I was blank – it happens every time. But once I get going, it always comes together.

The most rewarding aspect is receiving that all-important book contract and second is seeing the cover art for the first time – I love that part!

 

Jen: With DRESSING THE COUNTESS now out in the world, what's next for you? Are there any upcoming projects or stories you're excited to tackle?

Rachel: Always! I am currently editing book 1 of a brand-new WWII series – my first time venturing into this period – and writing book 2. I signed a four-book contract for The Home Front Nurses series back in November and book 1 is due for release August 8th. I can’t wait!

 

Jen: When you're not writing, what do you enjoy doing in your free time? Do you have any hobbies or activities that help inspire your creativity?

Rachel: I am a huge jigsaw puzzle fan! I love nothing more than puzzling while watching a British period drama or US crime series on TV. I find this is when I also do a lot of thinking, so I suppose it does inspire my creativity!

My favorite Sundays are always a long dog walk in the beautiful English countryside, followed by a roast lunch in a small pub somewhere – bliss!

 

Jen: Lastly, how can readers connect with you to stay updated on your future releases and events? Do you have a preferred social media platform or website where they can find you?

Rachel: I can be found on Instagram and my website.

 

Jen: Thank you for chatting with us about your latest book, DRESSING THE COUNTESS. Wishing you much success—here's to Rose and Henry stealing readers' hearts everywhere!

Rachel: Thank you so much for hosting me! I have loved Fresh Fiction for years and this interview has been so much fun.

DRESSING THE COUNTESS by Rachel Brimble

Dressing the Countess

Seamstress Rose Watson cannot believe her good fortune when she’s plucked from obscurity to work for Lady Christina, the Countess of Bath.

When she arrives at the royal residence of Henlow House, a sense of destiny whispers through her. But once she meets saddler Henry Ward, her dreams are met with challenge of every kind. Rose’s new connection to Henry could cause her to lose her position at Henlow House, which would destroy her.

Will she be forced to choose between love and ambition? Either choice would change her life irrevocably.

Fans of Kristy Cambron and Mimi Matthews will adore this dazzling Victorian romance from historical fiction dynamo, Rachel Brimble. An enchanting escape that will touch your heart and keep you turning pages with impatient hope for Rose.

 

Romance Historical [Harpeth Road Press, On Sale: May 3, 2024, e-Book, ISBN: 9798988774457 / eISBN: 9798988774457]

Buy DRESSING THE COUNTESSKindle | BN.com | Apple Books | Kobo | Google Play | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon FR

About Rachel Brimble

Rachel Brimble

Rachel Brimble is the author of over 25 published romance novels in contemporary romance, historical and romantic suspense. When she is not writing, she likes to knit, read and walk the beautiful English countryside with her family and friends.

Her latest Victorian trilogy, the Ladies of Carson Street, is set in the beautiful city of Bath, England which is just a short 30 minutes drive from where Rachel lives. The final part in her trilogy, A Very Modern Marriage is due for release in February 2022.

 

Templeton Cove | Ladies of Carson Street | Pennington's

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS | BLOG | INSTAGRAM

About Jennifer Vido

Jennifer Vido

Jennifer Vido writes sweet romances set in the Lowcountry filled with southern charm and hospitality. In between chapters, she interviews authors for her bi-weekly Jen’s Jewels column on FreshFiction.com. Most mornings, she teaches an arthritis-friendly water exercise class for seniors before heading to the office to serve as the executive director of a legal non-profit. A New Jersey native, she currently lives in Maryland with her husband and two rescue dogs and is the proud parent of two sons who miss her home-cooked meals. To learn more, please visit her website.

Gull Island

WEBSITE | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | GOODREADS | AMAZON | TWITTER | BLOG

 

 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy