April 16th, 2024
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
THE BREAKUP LISTS
THE BREAKUP LISTS

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

April Showers Giveaways

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Investigating a conspiracy really wasn't on Nikki's very long to-do list.


slideshow image
Escape to the Scottish Highlands in this enemies to lovers romance!


slideshow image
It�s not the heat�it�s the pixie dust.


slideshow image
They have a perfect partnership�
But an attempt on her life changes everything.


slideshow image
Jealousy, Love, and Murder: The Ancient Games Turn Deadly


slideshow image
Secret Identity, Small Town Romance
Available 4.15.24



April's Affections and Intrigues: Love and Mystery Bloom


Barnes & Noble

Fresh Fiction Blog
Get to Know Your Favorite Authors

Robert Rotenberg | A baffling cold case. A Nazi atrocity. A reckoning 80 years overdue.


What We Buried
Robert Rotenberg

AVAILABLE

Amazon

Kindle

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop


March 2024
On Sale: February 27, 2024
Featuring: Daniel Kennicott; Michael Kennicott; Ari Greene
320 pages
ISBN: 1982179643
EAN: 9781982179649
Kindle: B0C7RMD1CT
Trade Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Also by Robert Rotenberg:
What We Buried, March 2024
Downfall, February 2021
Stranglehold, June 2013

Instagramtwitterfacebook

1--What is the title of your latest release?

WHAT WE BURIED

2--What’s the “elevator pitch” for your new book?

A baffling cold case. A Nazi atrocity. A reckoning 80 years overdue.

3--How did you decide where your book was going to take place?

Twenty-five years ago, I attended the 500 year old crossbow contest in Gubbio Italy, and knew I had to set a book there.

4--Would you hang out with your protagonist in real life?

For tea, he doesn’t drink coffee.

5--What are three words that describe your protagonist?

Real, quiet, resourceful

6--What’s something you learned while writing this book?

About the massacre of 40 innocents in Italy by the Germans. About how Canada let in 60,000 German prisoners of war, and let many Nazis back into the country after the war.

7--Do you edit as you draft or wait until you are totally done?

I edit every day.

8--What’s your favorite foodie indulgence?

Butter tarts – but only in the summer.

9--Describe your writing space/office!

Many coffee shops, my law office and some mornings my bed.

10--Who is an author you admire?

Andrea Camilarri – he started writing when he was my age.

11--Is there a book that changed your life?

Every good book does.

12--Tell us about when you got “the call.” (when you found out your book was going to be published)/Or, for indie authors, when you decided to self-publish.

I was coming back from court when my agent called, got stuck in an elevator rushing back to my office.

13--What’s your favorite genre to read?

Good books.

14--What’s your favorite movie?

I have watched Chinatown about 20 times, read the screenplay, watched every video about it.

15--What is your favorite season?

Baseball season

16--How do you like to celebrate your birthday?

Take a day off from my law office

17--What’s a recent tv show/movie/book/podcast you highly recommend?

All my brother David Rotenberg’s books

18--What’s your favorite type of cuisine?

Things I or my children cook

19--What do you do when you have free time?

Play hockey, paddle my canoe

20--What can readers expect from you next?

A prequel about their favorite detective in the era well before cellphones.

WHAT WE BURIED by Robert Rotenberg

What We Buried

A Toronto homicide detective is attacked at his doorstep when his investigation into possible links between the Nazi occupation of Italy and the murder of his brother decades later gets too close to the truth—in the new crime thriller from bestselling author Robert Rotenberg. Perfect for fans of Scott Turow and David Baldacci.

It’s been years since Daniel Kennicott’s brother, Michael, was shot and killed the night before he was about to depart for Gubbio, Italy. The case, never solved, has haunted Daniel ever since. Long suspecting the killing was tied to Michael’s planned trip but overwhelmed with grief, Daniel has put off going there—until now, the tenth anniversary of the murder.

As he’s about to leave, Daniel learns that his two mentors, detectives Ari Greene and Nora Bering, have been more involved in the investigation of Michael’s murder than he ever knew. And they’re concerned about Daniel’s safety. But why? Is Daniel risking his life—and those of others—by trying to uncover the truth?

When Daniel arrives in the bucolic Italian hill town, he learns the past has not been put to rest. Residents are still haunted by the brutal Nazi occupation, the brave acts of the local freedom fighters, and the swift savagery of German retribution.

And as Daniel delves into his family’s deadly connection to Gubbio, Ari Greene searches for a killer closer to home.

Inspired by the true story of the Forty Martyrs in Gubbio, Italy, during World War II, What We Buried is an extraordinary crime novel about troubled legacies, revenge, and the unbreakable bonds of family.

 

Mystery | Thriller Historical [Simon & Schuster, On Sale: February 27, 2024, Trade Paperback / e-Book, ISBN: 9781982179649 / eISBN: 9781982179656]

The past never stays in the past

Buy WHAT WE BURIEDAmazon.com | Kindle | BN.com | Apple Books | Kobo | Google Play | Powell's Books | Books-A-Million | Indie BookShops | Ripped Bodice | Walmart.com | Target.com | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon FR

About Robert Rotenberg

Robert Rotenberg

Robert Rotenberg is a Canadian criminal defense lawyer and writer, based in Toronto. He has worked extensively as a criminal defense lawyer from the 1990s. As of April, 2019 he practices as part of the association of Rotenberg Shidlowski Jesin. Rotenberg's first novel, Old City Hall is an international best-seller

WEBSITE | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

 

 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy