December 14th, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
D.B. ReynoldsD.B. Reynolds
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
MEET ME UNDER THE MISTLETOE

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
New York Times bestseller Cleo Coyle's "delightfully twisty" new Coffeehouse Mystery.


slideshow image
Shes hiding from killers. Can she find a safe haven in Amish country?


slideshow image
With a heart torn between two men and two cities, whats a girl to do?


slideshow image
Goode girls dont lie


slideshow image
Will an abandoned child bring them together? Or tear them apart?


slideshow image
This SEAL turned sheriff realizes theres no rule or regulation he wont break to keep his love safe.


slideshow image
Hes Hollywoods hottest heartthroband her sons secret father.



Finish off the year with great December reads


Barnes & Noble

Fresh Fiction Blog
Get to Know Your Favorite Authors

Jill Mansell | THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT Excerpt


The One You Really Want
Jill Mansell

AVAILABLE

Amazon

Kindle

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

could be closer than you think!


April 2016
On Sale: April 5, 2016
Featuring: Nancy
480 pages
ISBN: 149260447X
EAN: 9781492604471
Kindle: B019HQ2LA4
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Also by Jill Mansell:
Mixed Doubles, January 2020
Add to review list
Kiss, August 2019
Add to review list
Maybe This Time, June 2019
Add to review list
Fast Friends, January 2019

facebooktwitter

Exclusive Excerpt from THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT

Ready for a sneak peek at the next delicious book from Jill Mansell? Well, your wait is over! Thanks to Sourcebooks Landmark we're going to tease you ... just a little bit!

“All done.” Nancy held out the box containing the cake as Connor opened his front door. It was six o’clock on Friday evening and pregnant Pam’s leaving party at the Lazy B was due to start at eight.

“Bring it on inside. Here, let me give you a hand.” As he took the pink and white striped box from her, Connor’s hands brushed against her own and the by now familiar zapping sensation shot up Nancy’s arms. Was this something she’d ever get used to?

“Yay! Let’s see it.” Mia, clearing a space on the kitchen table, said bossily, “Come on, Dad, take the lid off.”

Connor paused, looked at Nancy. “What if I don’t like it?”

“Don’t worry. I’ll just go away and quietly commit suicide.”

“Fine, but where would we get another cake at such short notice?”

“Oh, get on with it,” Mia exclaimed, briskly removing the lid. “Bloody hell, Nancy, it’s all broken.”

What?” Nancy stopped gazing helplessly at Connor and spun around so fast she got a crick in her neck.

“Ha, got you.” Mia beamed at them both.

“Hey,” said Connor, studying the cake. “That’s amazing. You’ve done an incredible job.”

Praise from Connor was like warm honey trickling down her spine. Basking in the sensation, Nancy watched him examine the more intricate details of the cake. She wondered if putting on perfume to bring it over to his house had been a mistake.

Then she thought maybe not as Connor put an arm around her shoulders—yes, yes!—and said, “You’re a clever old stick, aren’t you?”

The warm honey abruptly vanished. Stick? Clever old STICK? What kind of an endearment was that when it was at home?

“Ignore him.” Sensing her alarm, Mia said consolingly, “It’s just one of those stupid things Dad says. He called me that once. So I called him a fat old fart,” she remembered with satisfaction. “That soon put a stop to it.”

“Please don’t try that.” Connor turned to Nancy. “I’m sorry. I just meant you were clever. You don’t look a bit like a stick. Anyway, we’d better be getting ready.” He nodded at Mia. “D’you have it?”

Mia patted her jeans jacket pockets, found what she was looking for.

Embarrassed, Nancy said hurriedly, “I told you, I don’t want any money.”

“It isn’t money,” said Connor.

“Oh.”

“Here.” Mia handed Nancy a laminated card. “Now you’re a member of the Lazy B.”

Overwhelmed, Nancy took the card. “You don’t have to do this.”

“Hey, wasn’t I saying just the other day that you should come along to the club?” Mia, whose idea it had been, was looking delighted with herself. “Well, now you’ll have to.”

Nancy turned the card over. Oh God. “You really didn’t have to do this.” Horrified, she gazed at the photograph of herself, purportedly there for identification purposes. This one, taken almost ten years ago, showed her with overplucked eyebrows, a truly hideous perm, and the startled look of someone perched in a photo booth, unsure when the flash might be about to go off. Excerpt that she hadn’t been in a photo booth—she’d been at one of Spike and Carmen’s parties.

“I asked Carmen yesterday for a picture of you,” Mia explained. “See? All planned.”

Nancy said wryly, “And to think she used to be my friend.” God, even her passport photo wasn’t as awful as this.

“You can have another one taken at the club. We’ll do you a replacement card.” Connor’s tone was consoling. “Hey, look on the bright side. At least you’ve improved with age.”

“Thanks.” Nancy forced herself to smile; he probably didn’t mean to imply that these days she looked passable, whereas back then she’d been a complete dog.

“Anyway, I like curly perms; my aunties all used to have them.”

“Dad.” Mia gave him a pitying shake of the head. “You aren’t doing yourself any favors, you know.”

“Aren’t I?” Connor turned to Nancy. “Aren’t I? Am I getting it horribly wrong?”

“Now you happen to mention it,” said Nancy, “yes.”

“Bugger, I’ve lost my blarney.” He clutched his forehead, looked tortured. “I’m sorry. I don’t know where it’s gotten to.”

“Try looking down the back of your sofa,” Nancy suggested. “When we lose anything, that’s where it usually turns up.” Reading herself to leave she said, “Anyway, thanks for the membership. Maybe I’ll give the club a try over the weekend.”

“Come with us tonight,” Mia exclaimed. “We’ll be leaving here in half an hour. I can give you the guided tour, introduce you to people. And you’ll see Pam getting her cake. Fancy that?”

Nancy hesitated, glanced at Connor to see his reaction.

“Of course, you must come with us.” Connor clutched her arm. “That’s a great idea. Why didn’t I think of it?”

“Probably because you’re losing your marbles along with you blarney.” Mia flashed him a sunny smile. “I’ll be having to put you in a home soon.”

“How about it then, Nancy? Are you free?” said Connor.

Nancy was having trouble concentrating; the electrical currents were still zip-zapping excitedly up and down her arm. Gathering herself, she said, “I’m free.”

“Great.” Connor looked pleased.

Mia winked at her and Nancy blushed, suspecting that she and Connor had both just been expertly set up. Mia was clearly a girl with a plan.

About THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT

The One You
Really Want

could be closer than you think!

A funny, heartfelt novel about second chances at love from beloved bestseller Jill Mansell

When it comes to love, never say never

When Nancy discovers the expensive jewelry her husband's been buying isn't for her, she decamps from the Scottish countryside to her best friend Carmen's posh Chelsea town house to sort things out.

Nancy finds herself in a surprising new world, where rock stars are nicer than you thought, social workers are not necessarily to be trusted, and the filthy rich are folks with problems just like you. Everybody falls in love with the wrong people, and the path to true love twists and turns before you discover who you really want.

Buy THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT: Amazon.com | Kindle| BN.com| iTunes/iBooks | Kobo | Google Play | Powell's Books | Books-A-Million | Indiebound | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon FR

About Jill Mansell

Jill Mansell

With over 10 million copies sold, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Mansell writes irresistible and funny, poignant and romantic tales for women in the tradition of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella and Jojo Moyes. She lives with her partner and their children in Bristol, England.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

 

 

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: Jill Mansell | THE ONE YOU REALLY WANT Excerpt

I've read several of Jill's books and they've all been great.
(Laurice McClung 4:27pm April 3, 2016)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy