July 3rd, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
RUINED only 99 centsRUINED only 99 cents
Fresh Pick
A BRIDE'S GUIDE TO MARRIAGE AND MURDER
A BRIDE'S GUIDE TO MARRIAGE AND MURDER

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Kit Blakemore is ready to live again.


slideshow image
“I am in awe of her talent.”—Julia Quinn


slideshow image
Their marriage is fake, but their attraction is very real…


slideshow image
"A chance encounter, a magical kiss - could it be what it takes to break up a decades-long feud?"


slideshow image
A grump/sunshine beach read about a grouchy CEO and the girl-next-door he shouldn't want.



Summer Sizzling Reads in July!


Barnes & Noble

Fresh Fiction Blog
Get to Know Your Favorite Authors

Catriona McPherson | 20 Questions: IN PLACE OF FEAR


In Place of Fear
Catriona McPherson

AVAILABLE

Amazon

Kindle

Barnes & Noble

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop


July 2022
On Sale: June 28, 2022
ISBN: 1529337968
EAN: 9781529337969
Kindle: B09NVP2CJB
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Also by Catriona McPherson:
In Place of Fear, July 2022
The Mirror Dance, December 2021
A Gingerbread House, August 2021
The Turning Tide, November 2020

amazontwitterfacebook

1--What is the title of your latest release?

IN PLACE OF FEAR

2--What’s the “elevator pitch” for your new book?

Death stalks the streets of Edinburgh at the birth of the NHS. In this city of lawyers, who will risk a scandal in the name of justice?

3--How did you decide where your book was going to take place?

Easy – my home city.

4--Would you hang out with your sleuth in real life?

Oh, in a heartbeat. I love her. But I wasn’t alive in 1948.

5--What are three words that describe your sleuth?

Upstart, bewildered, determined

6--What’s something you learned while writing this book?

From contemporary accounts: of all the odorous places in this district of the city – tanning sheds, brewery, distillery, stables, slaughterhouse – the confectionary factory was the stinkiest of all.

7--Do you edit as you draft or wait until you are totally done?

Answer: I wait till I’m done. I don’t even read as I go along.

8--What’s your favorite foodie indulgence?

See’s Candy.

9--Describe your writing space/office!

The color scheme is seafoam and terra cotta (my favorite) and it’s full of books – both mine and other people’s – and full of the tchotchkes that are too kitsch/creepy for my husband to endure elsewhere in the house. There are clown pictures.

10--Who is an author you admire?

Soooo many, but I’ll try. I just read Xochitl Gonzalez’s debut, Olga Dies Dreaming, and couldn’t believe it was a debut. It was so accomplished.

11--Is there a book that changed your life?

Hmmmmm, Delia Smith’s How To Cook. Less practically, Annie Proulx’s The Shipping News was the first book I remember wishing I had written.

12--Tell us about when you got “the call.” (when you found out your book was going to be published)

My agent was so laidback about it. She said we’d had a fairly decent offer from a respected publisher, and she was inclined to accept. I was so speechless she thought we’d been cut off.

13--What’s your favorite genre to read?

Crime fiction (despite the fact that I haven’t mentioned any so far!) Inside that, psychological thrillers. I’m reading Rachel Howzell Hall’s These Toxic Things right now. Great title, eh?

14--What’s your favorite movie?

Ooft. North-by-Northwest (except for the last shot – eww). Or Moonstruck. I love that film.

15--What is your favorite season?

Winter. It’s got Christmas and no wildfires.

16--How do you like to celebrate your birthday?

With a really unoriginal steak dinner and birthday cake. And a trip to a bookshop to spend my birthday money. It never takes long.

17--What’s a recent tv show/movie/book/podcast you highly recommend?

Everyone’s looking for comfort viewing at the moment. My recommendation is Detectorists. If you loved Schitt’s Creek, Kim’s Convenience and Ted Lasso, this is for you. Ooh – or Derry Girls.

18--What’s your favorite type of cuisine?

I love all food – this body doesn’t just happen! – but if I’m pressed, I’d say UK gastropub. That might be cheating.

19--What do you do when you have free time?

I read (big twist!), I garden, I like going to the pictures, cycling, cooking, baking. I don’t really have “a hobby” as such.

20--What can readers expect from you next?

I always write in the crime-fiction genre, but I do get around it. As well as this historical set in the tenements in the 1940s, I write a historical series set in the 1930s, about an aristocratic sleuth. And I write modern standalone suspense (like my favorite reading!). Finally, I write comic capers about a Scot in California, called the Last Ditch Motel series. One of them – SCOT IN A TRAP – is out next.

IN PLACE OF FEAR by Catriona McPherson

In Place of Fear

Helen leaned close enough to fog the mirror with her breath and whispered, 'You, my girl, are a qualified medical almoner and at eight o'clock tomorrow morning you will be on the front line of the National Health Service of Scotland.' Her eyes looked huge and scared. 'So take a shake to yourself!''

Edinburgh, 1948. Helen Crowther leaves a crowded tenement home for her very own office in a doctor's surgery. Upstart, ungrateful, out of your depth - the words of disapproval come at her from everywhere but she's determined to take her chance and play her part.

She's barely begun when she stumbles over a murder and learns that, in this most respectable of cities, no one will fight for justice at the risk of scandal. As Helen resolves to find a killer, she's propelled into a darker world than she knew existed, hardscrabble as her own can be. Disapproval is the least of her worries now.

IN PLACE OF FEAR is a gripping new historical crime novel that is both enthralling and entertaining, and perfect for fans of AJ Pearce and Nicola Upson.

 

Mystery Woman Sleuth | Mystery Historical [Mobius, On Sale: June 28, 2022, Hardcover / e-Book, ISBN: 9781529337969 / ]

Buy IN PLACE OF FEARAmazon.com | Kindle | BN.com | Powell's Books | Books-A-Million | Indie BookShops | Ripped Bodice | Love's Sweet Arrow | Walmart.com | Book Depository | Target.com | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon DE | Amazon FR

About Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson (she/her) writes preposterous 1930s detective stories about an aristocratic sleuth, darker (not difficult) contemporary psychological thrillers, and comedies set in the Last Ditch Motel in fictional (yeah, sure) California. She has just introduced a fresh character in June’s 1948-set IN PLACE OF FEAR, which finally marries her love of historicals with her own working-class roots.

Catriona is a proud lifetime member and former national president of Sisters in Crime.

Dandy Gilver

WEBSITE | AMAZON | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

 

 

 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy