June 26th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
THE BRIGHTER THE LIGHTTHE BRIGHTER THE LIGHT
Fresh Pick
THE MESSY LIVES OF BOOK PEOPLE
THE MESSY LIVES OF BOOK PEOPLE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club


Summer reads begin in June!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Two determined souls plumb the dark depths of the past in order to forge a brighter future--together.


slideshow image
"He could see her face. And she couldn’t breathe…"


slideshow image
Can a chance meeting open a grieving heart to love?


slideshow image
When the going gets tough, the tough get their hands dirty.


slideshow image
RUN. HIDE. SEEK.


slideshow image
Channeling Indiana Jones, author Kat Martin pairs a woman in search of her family's truth with a hard-hitting professional treasure hunter!


In Place of Fear by Catriona McPherson

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Catriona McPherson:

In Place of Fear, July 2022
Hardcover / e-Book
The Mirror Dance, December 2021
Hardcover / e-Book
A Gingerbread House, August 2021
Hardcover / e-Book
The Turning Tide, November 2020
Hardcover
Strangers at the Gate, November 2019
Hardcover / e-Book
Scot & Soda, April 2019
e-Book
Go to My Grave, November 2018
Hardcover / e-Book
House. Tree. Person., September 2017
Hardcover / e-Book
The Reek of Red Herrings, December 2016
Hardcover / e-Book
Quiet Neighbors, April 2016
Hardcover / e-Book
The Child Garden, September 2015
Hardcover / e-Book
Come to Harm, May 2015
Paperback
A Deadly Measure Of Brimstone, November 2014
Hardcover
Dandy Gilver And A Bothersome Number Of Corpses, November 2013
Hardcover / e-Book
Dandy Gilver And An Unsuitable Day For Murder, June 2012
Hardcover / e-Book
The Proper Treatment Of Blood Stains, August 2011
Hardcover / e-Book (reprint)

In Place of Fear
Catriona McPherson

Mobius
July 2022
On Sale: June 28, 2022
ISBN: 1529337968
EAN: 9781529337969
Kindle: B09NVP2CJB
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Mystery Woman Sleuth | Mystery Historical

Helen leaned close enough to fog the mirror with her breath and whispered, 'You, my girl, are a qualified medical almoner and at eight o'clock tomorrow morning you will be on the front line of the National Health Service of Scotland.' Her eyes looked huge and scared. 'So take a shake to yourself!''

Edinburgh, 1948. Helen Crowther leaves a crowded tenement home for her very own office in a doctor's surgery. Upstart, ungrateful, out of your depth - the words of disapproval come at her from everywhere but she's determined to take her chance and play her part.

She's barely begun when she stumbles over a murder and learns that, in this most respectable of cities, no one will fight for justice at the risk of scandal. As Helen resolves to find a killer, she's propelled into a darker world than she knew existed, hardscrabble as her own can be. Disapproval is the least of her worries now.

IN PLACE OF FEAR is a gripping new historical crime novel that is both enthralling and entertaining, and perfect for fans of AJ Pearce and Nicola Upson.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy