April 24th, 2019
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
QUINNQUINN
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
CHASING VENGEANCE

No fooling, it's April books!

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


St. Martin's Griffin
April 2019
On Sale: April 9, 2019
304 pages
ISBN: 1250198402
EAN: 9781250198402
Kindle: B07F1C4W6S
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

For readers of Elin Hilderbrand, a delicious and irresistible commercial novel set among the high society galas and gossip of Palm Beach.

Amid the glamour and galas and parties of Palm Beach, Faith knows that image often counts as much if not more than reality. She glides effortlessly among the highest of the high society so perfectly that you would never suspect she wasn’t born to this. But it wasn’t always so; though she hides it well, Faith has fought hard for the wonderful life she has, for her loving, successful husband, for her daughter’s future. In this town of secrets and gossip and rumors, Faith has kept a desperate grip on everything she holds so dear, built from so little. And yet even she—the only one who knows just how far she has to fall—never suspects from which direction, or how many directions all at once, betrayal will come.

Excerpt

Lucas is leaning against a bench at the public beach between Mar-a-Lago and Eau Spa when she gets there. The sky is filled with pink and magenta streaks; the sun is rising. In the gentle light, Lucas’s face is unflawed, mildly Clark Kent–esque. Today she finds the look both sexy and endearing. His straw hat reminds her of a picture she once saw of Ernest Hemingway. She smiles at Lucas’s interpretation of incognito.

“Surreal, isn’t it?” he asks.

Early risers, mostly fishermen, walk toward Benny’s on the Beach for their pancake breakfast.

Faith nods. “Totally.”

They stand without touching,

“Join me, Faith.” Lucas leads her, pats the empty space on the bench for her to sit.

She collects her hair into a ponytail, runs her tongue across her front teeth. Nothing about him has to do with Palm Beach or the Avenue. Nothing about her either. As if they exist in a cubic prism—the lateral view belongs only to them. She slots in, they face the boardwalk jutting into the ocean, their shoulders close together.

“So many years apart. I’m still thinking of you,” Lucas says.

“I don’t remember the last time I sat next to you,” Faith says. She’s near enough to touch any part of his body.

“Decades.” The voice again, a memory of telling a joke by batting an eye.

“A lifetime ago.”

“Well, we’ve seen each other. Wasn’t there one time at the Candy Kitchen in Bridgehampton, Margot sending daggers toward you? If looks could kill, they say.” Lucas laughs.

“Margot. She and I are sort of friendly these days.”

“Really? All that she wants is your title for the Arts and Media Ball,” Lucas sighs.

“Not a bad idea,” Faith says. A comment that pops out of her mouth, filled with truth. Perhaps it was yesterday with Diana and last night with Edward’s pretense that caused the tipping point.

“What?” How he gazes at her.

Uneasily, she turns to him. “Nothing.”

Waves roll in, crashing into one another as if their rhythm is off. Part of her wants to strip off her clothes, instigate unmarried, untethered sex. She sniffs his skin as though it might save her life. She could breathe Lucas instead of oxygen.

After years of brief and tenuous thoughts, longings and no place to file anything. An affair of the mind that hasn’t any home or port.

“I’ve missed you.” Lucas’s mouth at her ear. “Let’s not wait another stretch like this—twenty-five years—to be together. I should never have let you go. I regret it—I’ve regretted it always. But now, now our kids are grown.”

She blinks, remembering what Eve had said when Lucas broke it off with Faith. He’ll be sorry, really sorry. One day—a faraway day—he’ll come begging.

“Lucas,” she says. “Maybe . . .” He places his forefinger on her lips, then over her forehead. She’s made of carved alabaster, in place for his touch, unable to resist.

“Soon? Maybe?” He reaches over to kiss her. “Hey?”

“You don’t want me, Lucas. Believe me.”

She wishes this warning weren’t true. He kisses her again and she opens her mouth. He tastes like licorice and tree resin; his lips are soft and strong.

The wind blows his hat and he tugs it back before it flies away. Faith pulls her hood over her head and stares at him. Is he being sincere, or is she too incredibly threadbare from what’s gone on that she wouldn’t know? How many years has she imbued Edward with qualities he may or may not have? Still, her husband needs help, and here she sits with Lucas. He hugs her and she sinks into him. A comfortable/strange caress. What kind of person is she?

“Something has happened with Edward. I want to tell you before you hear it on the tennis courts, at some golf match, a cocktail hour at Longreens,” she begins.

“Let’s not do that this morning. Can’t we shut Edward out? And Margot out? Let’s the two of us have our own little reunion.” He puts his mouth close to her ear again. “Come with me, Faith, it’s time. We’ve always been in love..”

“I need to explain . . . first,” Faith says.

“Explain what, Faith?” He’s half listening, persuaded by their tête-à-tête, perhaps fascinated by her face so near to his—that they’re in each other’s company. He moves toward her ear again. She wants him to keep at it, but instead she stiffens, moves back.

“Lucas, we have to talk about Edward, if not the others. Today. Because he’s in trouble.”

He pauses almost politely as she shifts the conversation far from their interlude. A few more fishermen pass by on their way to the pier.

“Edward’s lost our money. You’ll know about it soon enough.”

“How?” Lucas asks with a slight detachment, as if there’s nothing original in her news.

“Bad investments, I suppose—personal investments. I’m understanding he was careless, imprudent. It’s going to rumble through Palm Beach, people talking, whispering. Katherine has to be safe. I’m trying to help, to figure out what to do.”

Lucas straightens up and looks at the shoreline, away from Faith.

“I brought you to Palm Beach. We were meant to be together. You and I . . .”

What might have been with Lucas, the life not shared. Has he missed her careful camouflage, threaded together over the years with great care? Rather he’s searching for a reason, one he’ll understand.

“Oh, Lucas, I don’t know that, I don’t know—I let that go. I had to.”

The gulls caw overhead, cackling and dropping clamshells onto the boardwalk.

“A loan,” Lucas says. “Would that help?”

“I’m sorry?”

“I’ll loan you money, Faith. Name the amount.”

“Why are you doing this, Lucas?”

“I owe you. I owe you for . . .”

“Please, please don’t say this.” She closes her eyes, wanting to touch his collarbone.

“You should take the check, Faith.”

“I can’t do that,” she whispers.

He starts to kiss her. She kisses him back, wishing he’d invade her being. They would find a spot beneath the pier to make love, Lucas would be inside her. Whether they do or not, she’s covered in Lucas anyway.



Start Reading A PALM BEACH WIFE Now



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Hope on the Inside HOPE ON THE INSIDE
by Marie Bostwick
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 23, 2019

In this compelling, heartwarming novel from New York Times bestselling author Marie Bostwick, one woman finds new purpose in a new phase of life . . . “Whatever Read More »

Our House OUR HOUSE
by Louise Candlish
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 22, 2019

From an internationally acclaimed author, a disturbing and addictive novel of domestic suspense where secrets kept hidden from spouses cause shocking surprises that hit home Read More »

A disturbing psychological thriller like no other!

Death of a New American DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN
by Mariah Fredericks
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 21, 2019

Death of a New American by Mariah Fredericks is the atmospheric, compelling follow-up to the stunning debut A Death of No Importance, featuring series Read More »

Murder in the Gilded Age...

It's the wedding of the year, but a brutal murder may stop it...

Beach House Reunion BEACH HOUSE REUNION
by Mary Alice Monroe
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 20, 2019

Return to the bestselling Beach House series with Mary Alice Monroe’s tale of the struggles and triumphs of the historic Rutledge family of South Read More »

The Governess of Penwythe Hall THE GOVERNESS OF PENWYTHE HALL
by Sarah E. Ladd
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 19, 2019

In the first of a new series from beloved Regency romance author, Sarah Ladd, Delia, a governess to five recently orphaned children, would risk anything Read More »

A delightful story... Sarah E. Ladd is a sterling storyteller!

That Ain't Witchcraft THAT AIN'T WITCHCRAFT
by Seanan McGuire
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 18, 2019

The eighth book in the funny and fast-paced InCryptid urban fantasy series returns to the mishaps of the Price family, eccentric cryptozoologists who safeguard Read More »

The crossroads have come calling...

A Duke in Disguise A DUKE IN DISGUISE
by Cat Sebastian
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 17, 2019

One reluctant heir If anyone else had asked for his help publishing a naughty novel, Ash would have had the sense to say no. But Read More »

Even non-conformists deserve their happily ever after...

The Claiming Of The Shrew THE CLAIMING OF THE SHREW
by Shana Galen
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 16, 2019

What happens when a marriage of convenience isn't so convenient? Lieutenant Colonel Benedict Draven has retired from the army and spends most of his Read More »

How do you solve a problem like Catarina?

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+