April 15th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
THE HANGMANTHE HANGMAN
Fresh Pick
SECRETS OF A SCOTTISH ISLE
SECRETS OF A SCOTTISH ISLE

April's Affections and Intrigues: Love and Mystery Bloom

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


Howard Books
May 2009
On Sale: May 12, 2009
Featuring: Harry Bennett; Storm Syrrell
352 pages
ISBN: 1416556311
EAN: 9781416556312
Hardcover
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop

Ripped Bodice

Will she decipher the mysteries leading to the sacred relic, or be defeated by the foes racing to claim it and destroy her?

A dealer in art and antiquities, Storm Syrrell arranges her life as she does her work -- into neat, orderly categories. But when her grandfather is murdered, all certainties are crushingly replaced by suspicions. She struggles to understand his death -- and decipher the frayed leather journal she finds hidden in his vault. Storm soon realizes that, far from being simply a discreet art broker, Sean Syrrell was a trusted go-between in the highest ranks of business and government in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East.

But not all of Sean's associates were quite so lofty. Enter Harry Bennett, a scruffy professional treasure hunter just released from a Caribbean jail, followed by Emma Webb, a US government lawyer with links to Interpol. Storm pushes her doubts aside, locks the door to her Palm Beach art gallery, and opens herself to the quest begun by her grandfather.

Their trail leads them ever farther afield -- London, France, Istanbul, Cyprus -- and ever deeper into danger. The thrill of the search is haunted by Storm's determination to bring Sean's murderers to justice. Storm and Harry in turn are targeted by an unknown assassin and saved from death only by Harry's split-second reactions.

Their quest homes in on the Copper Scroll of Qumran and controversial claims made by the Jewish historian Josephus. Hidden beneath the dust and mysteries of two thousand years lies the reason behind Sean Syrrell's murder and the find of a lifetime: a fortune in gold of great historical significance. Storm begins to grasp the potential magnitude such artifacts will have on contemporary religion and politics -- especially the competing historical claims to Jerusalem. Some seek to claim the gold for the treasure it represents; others are determined to destroy it. With the tangled motives of greed and power now in focus, old allies become new enemies. Through this, something unexpected tugs at Storm. The sacred relics represent a formidable metaphor to an ancient faith; will her search include a renewal of her own faith?



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


The Dead Guy Next Door THE DEAD GUY NEXT DOOR
by Lucy Score
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 14, 2024

A nice, normal life. Is that too much to ask? For Riley Thorn it is.Divorced. Broke. Living with a pack of elderly roommates. And Read More »

Hilarious Fast Paced with Lots of Quirky Characters

The New Couple in 5B THE NEW COUPLE IN 5B
by Lisa Unger
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 13, 2024

A couple inherits an apartment with a spine-tingling past in this unputdownable thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of  Read More »

Strange or just plain spooky?

The Orchids of Ashthorne Hall THE ORCHIDS OF ASHTHORNE HALL
by Rebecca Anderson
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 12, 2024

A ghostly estate. A handsome caretaker hiding a secret. And the intrepid Hyacinth Bell, who is set on solving the mystery of both. 1887, the Read More »

A spooky coastal manor, a budding romance

A Tempest of Tea A TEMPEST OF TEA
by Hafsah Faizal
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 11, 2024

From the New York Times–bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame comes the first book in a hotly-anticipated fantasy Read More »

Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass

The Other Side of Disappearing THE OTHER SIDE OF DISAPPEARING
by Kate Clayborn
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 10, 2024

Hairstylist Jess Greene has spent the last decade raising her younger half-sister, Tegan—and keeping a shocking secret. Ever since their reckless mother Read More »

Some searches yield unexpected results

The Rule Book THE RULE BOOK
by Sarah Adams
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 9, 2024

One of those rom-coms that revels in all of its tropes, The Rule Book is built on second-chance romance, enemies to lovers, fake Read More »

Second Chance Sports Romance with a Vegas Marriage Twist

She's Not Sorry SHE'S NOT SORRY
by Mary Kubica
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 7, 2024

An ICU nurse accidentally uncovers a patient’s frightening past in this chilling thriller from the New York Times bestselling author Read More »

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy