May 21st, 2019
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
SECRETS NEVER DIESECRETS NEVER DIE
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
GETTING HOT WITH THE SCOT

Let your reading bloom in May

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


William Morrow
February 2019
On Sale: February 19, 2019
368 pages
ISBN: 0062358200
EAN: 9780062358202
Kindle: B072F14LGX
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

IndieBound

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings. "It is the strength and fragility of the siblings' bond, the evolving nature of love that is at the core of Conklin's novel....Gracefully rendered, The Last Romantics focuses on the familiar theme of family with great originality." -- Washington Post

When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they've made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose—and sometimes rescue—the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories—how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.



Start Reading THE LAST ROMANTICS Now



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Murder on Trinity Place MURDER ON TRINITY PLACE
by Victoria Thompson
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 20, 2019

The devil's in the details when a man is found murdered near Trinity Church in the latest installment of the national bestselling Gaslight Mystery Read More »

A perplexing mystery involving family secrets and murder!

If You Go Down to the Woods IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS
by Seth C. Adams
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 19, 2019

SOMETHING IS HIDING IN THE SHADOWS… We were so young when it all happened. Just 13-years-old, making the most of the long, hot Read More »

There are some places you do not want to end up alone...

Neon Prey NEON PREY
by John Sandford
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 18, 2019

Lucas Davenport tracks a prolific serial killer in the newest nail-biter by #1 New York Times-bestselling author John Sandford. Clayton Deese looks like Read More »

Captivating action, unusual plot twists, and a killer with unusual tastes!

What I Leave Behind WHAT I LEAVE BEHIND
by Alison McGhee
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 17, 2019

After his dad dies of suicide, Will tries to overcome his own misery by secretly helping the people around him in this exquisitely crafted story Read More »

Can a new purpose help him through his pain?

The Invited THE INVITED
by Jennifer McMahon
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 16, 2019

A chilling ghost story with a twist: the New York Times bestselling author of The Winter People returns to the woods of Vermont to tell Read More »

The past haunts the present....

Tightrope TIGHTROPE
by Amanda Quick
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 15, 2019

An unconventional woman and a man shrouded in mystery walk a tightrope of desire as they race against a killer to find a top secret Read More »

Mystery, danger, intrigue and a tantalizing romance!

Murder, spies, suspense, and passion abound in Burning Cove

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors PRIDE, PREJUDICE, AND OTHER FLAVORS
by Sonali Dev
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 14, 2019

Award-winning author Sonali Dev launches a new series about the Rajes, an immigrant Indian family descended from royalty, who have built their lives in Read More »

A delicious deconstructed Pride and Prejudice for Austen Fans of all ages!

An engaging Austen-inspired story to be savored and enjoyed!

Never Tell NEVER TELL
by Lisa Gardner
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 13, 2019

#1 New York Times bestseller Lisa Gardner returns with an unpredictable thriller that puts fan favorites D.D. Warren and Flora Dane on a shocking Read More »

Another page turner in a clever series!

A long-standing series, with new twist and turns...

© 2003-2019 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+