April 15th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
OUT OF NOWHEREOUT OF NOWHERE
Fresh Pick
SECRETS OF A SCOTTISH ISLE
SECRETS OF A SCOTTISH ISLE

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

April Showers Giveaways


April's Affections and Intrigues: Love and Mystery Bloom

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Investigating a conspiracy really wasn't on Nikki's very long to-do list.


slideshow image
Escape to the Scottish Highlands in this enemies to lovers romance!


slideshow image
It�s not the heat�it�s the pixie dust.


slideshow image
They have a perfect partnership�
But an attempt on her life changes everything.


slideshow image
Jealousy, Love, and Murder: The Ancient Games Turn Deadly


slideshow image
Secret Identity, Small Town Romance
Available 4.15.24


The Murder Club

The Murder Club, February 2024
Pike, Wisconsin
by Alexandra Ivy

Zebra
352 pages
ISBN: 1420155520
EAN: 9781420155525
Kindle: B0C6FVZF9D
Mass Market Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"It was innocent fun until it wasn’t!"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Murder Club
Alexandra Ivy

Reviewed by Annetta Sweetko
Posted February 20, 2024

Romance Suspense

Bailey Evans’ life in Pike, Wisconsin has never been all that exciting but she loves her nursing job and living in a small town. Sometimes things are just so boring until she finds THE MURDER CLUB. In this online group, they take cold cases and try to solve them. Innocent fun until it isn’t. Her life suddenly becomes much more than she ever expected, and it just gets worse. After receiving strange messages and warnings that once the game begins there is no way out. It is when a beautiful necklace arrives in the mail, she is more worried than ever. Not wanting to involve the sheriff, her cousin and soon-to-be father, Zac, Bailey contacts well-known appraiser Dom Lucier to see if the necklace is real or fake.
The Las Vegas businessman is more than happy to help out the woman who has been on his mind since meeting her at her best friend’s wedding. In returning to Pike to examine and trace the necklace Dom and Bailey end up with more than a cold case to solve. Deaths escalate and the killer appears to be stalking and has plans for Bailey. Can they solve this before it’s too late?
THE MURDER CLUB will have you on the edge of your seat and glued to the pages. Bailey is a smart woman who loves her life and her town but wants some innocent fun and a way to use her very active brain. It turns dangerous and she finds herself in a very precarious position. So many things happen to her – losing her job, getting the threats and the necklace – that she begins to be frightened. And very logically so.
The best thing that comes out of the whole mess for Bailey is Dom. A wealthy businessman who was charmed by the small-town nurse finds himself her protector and getting deeper involved than even he expected. As the feelings begin to grow quickly to love, Dom will risk his life to protect her and find out the truth behind the suddenly dangerous club.
If you like a mystery with a lot of twists and turns, a romance that is sweet and steamy rolled into one, with characters that are likable or confusing or just downright terrible then you want THE MYSTERY CLUB in your hands.

Learn more about The Murder Club

SUMMARY

The New York Times bestselling author returns readers to the small town of Pike, Wisconsin, and its murderous history, in this chilling tale of romantic suspense, as a woman in an online crime-solving group is drawn into a deadly game that’s all too real. A must-read for fans of Lisa Jackson, Karen Rose, and Mary Burton.
 
An online crime-solving group is just the kind of adventure Bailey Evans needs. She loves her nursing career and small-town life, but her days are predictable. Her confidence bolstered by having her sheriff cousin Zac nearby, Bailey’s up for some innocent fun and intrigue. . . . Until she starts receiving unnerving warnings: Once the game begins, there’s no backing out of The Murder Club. Then the game gets real . . .

First, Bailey is shut out at work after an elderly patient dies and leaves her a shocking inheritance. Then a priceless necklace from an anonymous source arrives in her mail—along with a bone-chilling threat. Determined not to involve expectant father Zac, Bailey contacts an expert appraiser: the charming Las Vegas businessman who’s never left her mind . . .

Dom Lucier knows real gems—and Bailey is the most precious thing he’s seen since they met at her best friend’s wedding. Returning to Pike to trace the jewelry’s bloody history, Dom helps Bailey kick open a murderous cold case. But as death and disaster escalate, they’ll need a new strategy to escape a killer who won’t be satisfied until the streets of Pike are soaked in blood . . .


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy