June 17th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
OUT OF NOWHEREOUT OF NOWHERE
Fresh Pick
ONE PERFECT COUPLE
ONE PERFECT COUPLE

Kick off your summer Reads in June!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


Commissario Brunetti #32
Atlantic Monthly Press
March 2023
On Sale: March 14, 2023
Featuring: Commissario Guido Brunetti; Commissario Griffoni; Signora Elettra
320 pages
ISBN: 0802162363
EAN: 9780802162366
Kindle: B0B72JWGV4
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop

Ripped Bodice

In the thirty-second installment of Donna Leon’s bestselling series, a connection to Guido Brunetti’s own youthful past helps solve a mysterious murder

On a cold November evening, Guido Brunetti and Paola are up late when a call from his colleague Ispettore Vianello arrives, alerting the Commissario that a hand has been seen in one of Venice’s canals. The body is soon found, and Brunetti is assigned to investigate the murder of an undocumented Sri Lankan immigrant. Because no official record of the man’s presence in Venice exists, Brunetti is forced to use the city’s far richer sources of information: gossip and the memories of people who knew the victim. Curiously, he had been living in a small house on the grounds of a palazzo owned by a university professor, in which Brunetti discovers books revealing the victim’s interest in Buddhism, the revolutionary Tamil Tigers, and the last crop of Italian political terrorists, active in the 1980s.

As the investigation expands, Brunetti, Vianello, Commissario Griffoni, and Signora Elettra each assemble pieces of a puzzle—random information about real estate and land use, books, university friendships—that appear to have little in common, until Brunetti stumbles over something that transports him back to his own student days, causing him to reflect on lost ideals and the errors of youth, on Italian politics and history, and on the accidents that sometimes lead to revelation.



Start Reading SO SHALL YOU REAP Now



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Kill or Bee Killed KILL OR BEE KILLED
by Jennie Marts
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 16, 2024

Perfect for fans of Laura Childs and Amanda Flower, this second Bee Keeping mystery takes Bailey Briggs to the brink as murders threaten the future Read More »

An Enjoyable & Buzz-Worthy Mystery

The Blast from the Past THE BLAST FROM THE PAST
by Lucy Score
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 15, 2024

Riley Thorn and her hot, tattooed, private investigator boyfriend are all moved in to their new fixer-upper. Not only do they finally have their Read More »

Hysterical Series Continues

The Phoenix Ballroom THE PHOENIX BALLROOM
by Ruth Hogan
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 14, 2024

From the wildly popular bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things: a heartfelt and inspiring story about a wealthy widow who revives Read More »

A Feel Good Novel of Courage and Redemption

The Wren in the Holly Library THE WREN IN THE HOLLY LIBRARY
by K.A. Linde
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 13, 2024

A street thief and a monster are trapped in a library together; The Wren and the Holly Library reminds us of Beauty and the Beast Read More »

Romantasy readers will relish this one!

The Rival THE RIVAL
by Maisey Yates
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 12, 2024

This rugged cowboy has always been content going it alone…until he finally meets his match!Cowboy Levi Granger is his own man. He Read More »

Truly entertaining addition to the four corners ranch series

MOB STAR
by Sabine Barclay
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 11, 2024

You’re a fool to underestimate me. I do more than just run numbers. I do more than just work for my family. There Read More »

An O’Rourke finds his perfect match

The Comfort of Ghosts THE COMFORT OF GHOSTS
by Jacqueline Winspear
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 10, 2024

A milestone in historical mystery fiction as Maisie Dobbs takes her final bow!The Comfort of Ghosts completes Jacqueline Winspear’s ground-breaking and Read More »

This Excellent Award-Winning Historical Mystery Series Comes to a Compelling and Satisfying Close

Lights, Camera, Bones LIGHTS, CAMERA, BONES
by Carolyn Haines
Featured as Fresh Pick on June 9, 2024

The latest novel in the series that Kirkus Reviews characterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Read More »

Filming on the Mississippi is the background for this mystery

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy