October 7th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
THE SERPENT IN HEAVENTHE SERPENT IN HEAVEN
Fresh Pick
THE WAR LIBRARIAN
THE WAR LIBRARIAN

Fall into October Best Books

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


A Novel of Dorothy Parker and Her Friends

William Morrow Paperbacks
August 2022
On Sale: August 16, 2022
Featuring: Dorothy Parker; Winifred Lenihan; Peggy Leach
384 pages
ISBN: 0063161753
EAN: 9780063161757
Kindle: B09LYSZHG8
Paperback / e-Book / audiobook
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

It’s a 1920s version of Sex and the City, as Dorothy Parker—one of the wittiest women who ever wielded a pen—and her three friends navigate life, love, and careers in New York City. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis, Beatriz Williams, and Renée Rosen.

NEW YORK CITY 1921: The war is over, fashions are daring, and bootleg liquor is abundant. Here four extraordinary women form a bridge group that grows into a firm friendship.

Dorothy Parker: renowned wit, member of the Algonquin Round Table, and more fragile than she seems. Jane Grant: first female reporter for the New York Times, and determined to launch a new magazine she calls The New Yorker. Winifred Lenihan: beautiful and talented Broadway actress, a casting-couch target. And Peggy Leach: magazine assistant by day, brilliant novelist by night. 

Their romances flourish and falter while their goals sometimes seem impossible to reach and their friendship deepens against the backdrop of turbulent New York City, where new speakeasies open and close, jazz music flows through the air, and bathtub gin fills their glasses. 

They gossip, they comfort each other, and they offer support through the setbacks.  But their biggest challenge is keeping their dear friend Dottie safe from herself.

In this brilliant new novel from the bestselling and acclaimed author of Jackie and Maria and The Secret Wife, readers will fall right into Jazz Age New York and into the inner lives of these groundbreaking, influential women.



Start Reading THE MANHATTAN GIRLS Now



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Our Missing Hearts OUR MISSING HEARTS
by Celeste Ng
Featured as Fresh Pick on October 6, 2022

Twelve-year-old Bird Gardner lives a quiet existence with his loving but broken father, a former linguist who now shelves books in a university Read More »

Chilling dystopia where Asian-Americans are demonized and hated

Danger Rising DANGER RISING
by Katie Reus
Featured as Fresh Pick on October 5, 2022

She’s going after what’s hers.When Lana’s mom died, she was heartbroken. And when her mom’s business Read More »

Will she let him back in her life?

LUKE'S REVENGE
by Lisa Renee Jones
Featured as Fresh Pick on October 4, 2022

The third and final book in the Walker Security: Lucifer Trilogy... In the mind-blowing and stunning finale, all will be revealed as Lucifer's Read More »

Luke - and Ana - get their revenge

Killers of a Certain Age KILLERS OF A CERTAIN AGE
by Deanna Raybourn
Featured as Fresh Pick on October 3, 2022

Billie, Mary Alice, Helen, and Natalie have worked for the Museum, an elite network of assassins, for forty years. Now their talents are considered old Read More »

Old-school lady assassins must survive targeting by their former agency

The Lost and Found Girl THE LOST AND FOUND GIRL
by Maisey Yates
Featured as Fresh Pick on October 2, 2022

New York Times bestselling author Maisey Yates dazzles with this powerful novel of sisterhood, secrets and how far you’d go to protect someone Read More »

Another well done crime novel by one of the best

Where did she come from?

SEAL with a Secret SEAL WITH A SECRET
by Paige Tyler
Featured as Fresh Pick on October 1, 2022

SEAL with a SecretSecrets are his job.Navy SEAL Lane Roberts is used to danger––but not from within his own SEAL Team Read More »

Their first date might be their last!

Love in the Time of Serial Killers LOVE IN THE TIME OF SERIAL KILLERS
by Alicia Thompson
Featured as Fresh Pick on September 30, 2022

Turns out that reading nothing but true crime isn't exactly conducive to modern dating—and one woman is going to have to learn Read More »

No Serial Killers, But An Entertaining Rom-Com With A Fun Lead-In

Enchant the Dawn ENCHANT THE DAWN
by Amanda Ashley
Featured as Fresh Pick on September 29, 2022

Set in steamy New Orleans, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Amanda Ashley delivers a sensually-charged and intelligent vampire romance perfect fans Read More »

Vampire, witch = enchanting read!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy