April 16th, 2024
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
THE BREAKUP LISTS
THE BREAKUP LISTS

April's Affections and Intrigues: Love and Mystery Bloom

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

A new beginning for a pet rescue mystery series 


In the Pet Rescue Mysteries, ?no-kill? refers to pets, not people.

Pet Rescue #1
Berkley Prime Crime
March 2011
On Sale: March 1, 2011
Featuring: Lauren Vancouve
298 pages
ISBN: 0425240215
EAN: 9780425240212
Kindle: B004H0M8MC
Mass Market Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop

Ripped Bodice

Lauren Vancouver is the head of HotRescues, a no-kill animal shelter north of Los Angeles, but it's often human nature that puts her in the path of danger. Just like when she helps rescue four adorable beagle puppies that were dumped down a drainpipe at a nasty puppy mill.

One of the mill's employees has a history of dog abuse-and a bone to pick with Lauren. And when he's found dead at HotRescues after threatening her, Lauren will have to sniff out the real killer to keep herself out of a cage...

Excerpt

Chapter 1

I am not a killer.

At least not a killer of animals. I save their lives whenever humanly possible, especially pets. Their sole purpose on this earth is to love and be loved, like perpetual children.

People are something else.

Right now, I’d have gladly used my own hands—nice, strong ones for someone in her forties, since I do a lot of enclosure cleaning, lugging and opening of animal food containers, and other physical labor—to strangle Efram Kiley, the man who stood in front of me. His expression

was the picture of innocence even as he squared his thin yet sturdy body, as if attempting to hide the filled floor- to-ceiling cages in this torture chamber of a mega shed from my view.

Impossible, considering how many there were.

He couldn’t hide the smell, either. It was awful. The caged puppies and their parents obviously had no choice but to eliminate their wastes in the same place they lived and ate and suffered. The only surface beneath them was wire mesh that undoubtedly hurt their feet. No comfy rugs or mats for them.

And the sounds. Their cries. Their barks.

The outraged comments and shouts of the three Los Angeles Animal Cruelty Task Force members who’d leaped in like superheroes to reinforce regular animal control officers, all intent on saving these poor creatures.

Efram must have read the fury in my expression. Or maybe he’d learned enough about me, in the past few months, to know what I was thinking.

He quickly turned, and before I could say anything, he’d plucked an adorable beagle puppy from one of those appalling crates and gently placed her into my arms.

What could I do but nestle the squirmy little body close to my face, stench and all? "You poor little thing," I whispered against one of her long ears as I used my free hand to extract a small towel from the tote bag over my shoulder and wrap her in it.

"She’ll be all right now, Lauren," Efram assured me. As if he had anything to do with this rescue. Instead, the opposite was true. He was a party to the horror of this puppy mill. Even so, he said, "Isn’t this just a terrible place?" He shook his head slowly, as if he was as upset as I about the condition of this hell house and the innocent beings who lived here.

"Yeah," I agreed. "Terrible. So why do you work here?"

"I don’t."

"Then are you one of the owners?" I demanded.

"You know better than that, Lauren."

What I knew was that he was involved. I didn’t need to know exactly how, although I doubted he owned the place.

But I’d have bet he profited from it somehow.

I glared into Efram’s doleful brown eyes as I shifted the puppy in my arms. Towel or not, that smell was getting to me. But I wasn’t about to release her till I saw she would be taken care of.

She was just one of dozens of puppies here that the ACTF and animal control officers were handling with great care and angelic concern. And I would, eventually, have to hand her over to them.

Efram was in his twenties, with dark, messy hair that hung over his forehead. He worked out a lot and favored T- shirts with torn-off sleeves to show off his muscular biceps. His jeans were worn, his sneakers new.

He did a lot of work for me at HotRescues these days—the no-kill animal shelter I had helped to open a few years ago and now ran.

Oh, yeah. Efram was an animal care apprentice tending to creatures in need. He even had a choice about it: either learn how not to abuse pets and help care for them while they waited to be adopted, or forgo the substantial amount of money that was part of the legal settlement we’d entered into a while back.

Guess which he’d chosen.

Last year, Efram had threatened to sue HotRescues and me for rehoming his dog, Killer, without attempting to find the lost pup’s real owner. I, in turn, had been furious about the condition of that poor dog, now called Quincy, who had been brought to HotRescues as an apparent rescue from a public shelter, or so I’d chosen to believe. The settlement of our dispute had been fair. It resulted in Efram’s being paid to learn how to really care for animals. I’d even thought that, after all we’d taught him, he had become genuinely contrite for having abused Quincy. He certainly had seemed to throw himself energetically into his quasivolunteer work with HotRescues.

I wondered now if every bit of it had been an act.

"You’re Lauren Vancouver, aren’t you?" One of the uniformed animal control officers I’d glimpsed outside approached me. She was tall, her ginger hair pulled starkly back from her round face.

Efram looked relieved, as if this official, who could arrest him, was easier to deal with than me. Maybe she was.

I expected J. Gibbons—the ID on her nametag—to demand that I leave. Now. Civilians weren’t particularly welcome here, in the middle of an official investigation. I knew that.

But this wasn’t the first animal rescue that I’d crashed.

Nor would it be my last.



Start Reading BEAGLEMANIA Now

Pet Rescue Mysteries



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Secrets of a Scottish Isle SECRETS OF A SCOTTISH ISLE
by Erica Ruth Neubauer
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 15, 2024

The latest installment in the new Jane Wunderly Mystery series featuring an American widow turned private investigator in 1920s Europe.Isle of Iona, 1927: Cast Read More »

An occult circle and a poet in a 1920s Scottish mystery

The Dead Guy Next Door THE DEAD GUY NEXT DOOR
by Lucy Score
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 14, 2024

A nice, normal life. Is that too much to ask? For Riley Thorn it is.Divorced. Broke. Living with a pack of elderly roommates. And Read More »

Hilarious Fast Paced with Lots of Quirky Characters

The New Couple in 5B THE NEW COUPLE IN 5B
by Lisa Unger
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 13, 2024

A couple inherits an apartment with a spine-tingling past in this unputdownable thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of  Read More »

Strange or just plain spooky?

The Orchids of Ashthorne Hall THE ORCHIDS OF ASHTHORNE HALL
by Rebecca Anderson
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 12, 2024

A ghostly estate. A handsome caretaker hiding a secret. And the intrepid Hyacinth Bell, who is set on solving the mystery of both. 1887, the Read More »

A spooky coastal manor, a budding romance

A Tempest of Tea A TEMPEST OF TEA
by Hafsah Faizal
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 11, 2024

From the New York Times–bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame comes the first book in a hotly-anticipated fantasy Read More »

Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass

The Other Side of Disappearing THE OTHER SIDE OF DISAPPEARING
by Kate Clayborn
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 10, 2024

Hairstylist Jess Greene has spent the last decade raising her younger half-sister, Tegan—and keeping a shocking secret. Ever since their reckless mother Read More »

Some searches yield unexpected results

The Rule Book THE RULE BOOK
by Sarah Adams
Featured as Fresh Pick on April 9, 2024

One of those rom-coms that revels in all of its tropes, The Rule Book is built on second-chance romance, enemies to lovers, fake Read More »

Second Chance Sports Romance with a Vegas Marriage Twist

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy