September 20th, 2020
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
MY OWN WORDS
MY OWN WORDS

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Explore new books in September

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
In Oestend, the night can be deadly.


slideshow image
IN THIS GAME OF LOVE, THE RULES DO NOT APPLY...


slideshow image
How do you rest in peace when you're stuck between two worlds?


slideshow image
What happens when your blind date is an alien, and it goes so very wrong?


slideshow image
Dodging tazer-happy liberationists, her beloved daughter, goats, and a grumpy-hot tour guide, single mom Ava races Spain, hoping to find her missing father before it’s too late.


slideshow image
She has no time for a player, but is this cowboy the real thing?


City of Flickering Light by Juliette Fay

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Juliette Fay:

City of Flickering Light, April 2019
Trade Size / e-Book
The Tumbling Turner Sisters, January 2017
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
The Shortest Way Home, November 2012
Trade Size / e-Book
Deep Down True, February 2011
Paperback / e-Book
Shelter Me, January 2009
Paperback / e-Book

City of Flickering Light
Juliette Fay

Gallery Books
April 2019
On Sale: April 16, 2019
Featuring: Irene Van Beck; Millie Martin; Henry Weiss
400 pages
ISBN: 1501192930
EAN: 9781501192937
Kindle: B07GNSVVQJ
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Historical

Juliette Fay—“one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal)—transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen—perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It’s July 1921, “flickers” are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth—iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating—and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn’t come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her “trademark wit and grace” (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer’s Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

Comments

3 comments posted.

Re: City of Flickering Light

http://freshfiction.com/book.php?id=97721 great book
(Jeff Punk 11:15am May 21)

Great book
(
Jeff Punk 11:16am May 21)

[what happens when you suspend a user in g suite]
(http://freshfiction.com/book.php?id=97721)
(
Jeff Punk 11:51am May 21)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy