May 23rd, 2017
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Maggie Mae GallagherMaggie Mae Gallagher
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
BUNS

Reviewer Application


May flowers, May books to enjoy!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
In peaceful Pennsylvania Dutch country, a young mother discovers a shocking danger—and an unexpected ally


slideshow image
What if you wrote a steamy, sexy novel but couldn't tell anyone?


slideshow image
While searching for Mr. Right, Sarah found something completely different.


slideshow image
the independent LA beauty soon finds herself yearning for a fairy-tale ending of her own.


slideshow image
Her heart belongs to another...


slideshow image
The Enforcer: Games People Play


Flame

Flame, January 2014
Sky Chasers
by Amy Kathleen Ryan

St. Martin's Griffin
Featuring: Waverly; Kieran; Seth
336 pages
ISBN: 0312621361
EAN: 9780312621360
Kindle: B00ANI9EEM
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"The stunning conclusion to the Sky Chasers trilogy!"

Fresh Fiction Review

Flame
Amy Kathleen Ryan

Reviewed by Jennifer Barnhart
Posted January 16, 2014

Young Adult

Waverly, Kieran, and Seth return for the stunning climax to Amy Kathleen Ryan's standout Sky Chasers Trilogy.

After the New Horizon blew up the Empyrean, Waverly and all the kids from the Empyrean have no choice but to live aboard the New Horizon. Most are reunited with their parents, but they're not the same parents the kids remember. Something has been done to the crew of the Empyrean, cutting off all their emotions, their fear, their worries, their anger. Waverly can't stand seeing her mother like this and she'll do anything to get the real woman back. With the help of a powerful doctor, Waverly plans to bring Anne Mather's reign as captain of the New Horizon to an end. Kieran will also do anything to save his mother and the kids from the Empyrean. Even if that means working with Anne Mather to re-establish peace between the crews. Waverly and Kieran are again at odds and neither can trust the powerful leaders who are asking for their help. For Seth, the risks are greater. He boarded the New Horizon as a stowaway and must remain undetected or be thrown in the brig, but he's severely injured and getting sicker. Can Waverly, Kieran, and Seth do what it takes to save their crewmates, their families, and their friends before it is too late?

FLAME by Amy Kathleen Ryan is a thrilling conclusion to the phenomenal Sky Chasers trilogy. Thought-provoking, fast- paced, and with enough plot twists to keep the reader guessing what will happen to the Empyrean and New Horizon crews, FLAME lives up to the previous novels in this trilogy. The climax manages to take the reader by surprise at the same time that it feels absolutely right for these characters. I highly recommend all three novels, Glow, Spark, and FLAME. As a set, they address human nature's strengths and weaknesses and the determination we all have to survive. The characters are strong-willed, dynamic, and vulnerable. Fans of Orson Scott Card and Suzanne Collins will appreciate the depth of Amy Kathleen Ryan's world and how it reveals society at its weakest and strongest points.

Learn more about Flame

SUMMARY

In the thrilling conclusion to Amy Kathleen Ryan's Sky Chasers series, Waverly, Kieran, and Seth struggle to survive on-board the New Horizon and take down their enemies before it's too late.

Waverly and the other members of the Empyrean have been scattered, and their home ship destroyed. Their mission to rescue their parents didn't go as planned, and now they're at an even greater disadvantage: trapped with their enemies on the New Horizon, trying to find a way to survive. Kieran has been pulled under Anne Mather’s wing, but is she really trying to make peace, or just using Kieran to build her own power? Meanwhile, Waverly is taken in by a mysterious old man who wants to help her bring Anne Mather down—but the more Waverly cooperates with him, the more dangerous her position is, and the more at odds with Kieran she becomes.

Seth's situation is even worse. After setting out from the Empyrean on his own, with only a vague strategy to guide him, he is a fugitive aboard the New Horizon. He's doing what he can to challenge the power of Anne Mather, but he's badly hurt, and getting sicker. All the while, unknown to him, the terrorist Jacob is making plans of his own.

Will Seth ever see Waverly again? Will his health hold out long enough to help her topple their enemies? And will Waverly find a way to unite with her friends before they all fall? Nothing is sure and every moment is a risk in Flame, the explosive finale of the Sky Chasers series.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

 

Fresh Fiction contests

© 2003-2017 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+