June 1st, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
BROKENBROKEN
Fresh Pick
MARSHMALLOW MALICE
MARSHMALLOW MALICE

June blooms with love and intrigue

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


Cookies & Chance #8
Gemma Halliday Publishing
November 2019
On Sale: November 5, 2019
Featuring: Sally Muccio
ISBN: 194711090X
EAN: 9781947110908
Kindle: B07W4MC79Y
e-Book
Add to Wish List

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

From USA Today bestselling author Catherine Bruns comes a hilarious holiday whodunit!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year… Unless you’re Sally Muccio.

The full-time baker and sometime sleuth is ready to burst into song. She and her husband are expecting a bundle of joy, her sister’s wedding is just around the corner, and it’s Christmas, her favorite time of year. But when Sal’s the victim of a carjacking by Santa himself and a forgotten item links her to a murder, she doesn’t feel like ho-ho-hoing anymore.

Damian Ruger was a drug user, womanizer and first-class jerk. And unfortunately for Sal, she once had a connection to him in high school. The dough really hits the fan when her bakery's gingerbread cookies are found next to his dead body, and Sal's cake server is used as a murder weapon. Someone is trying to frame the expectant mother, but why? Sal has no choice but to try to clear her name...before she and the baby are singing Christmas carols in prison!

*Recipes Included!*

Excerpt

We'd had snow earlier today. It was only a couple of inches, but enough to turn the area into a winter postcard scene. I turned on the radio and smiled when I heard my favorite Christmas song playing, "Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree." Although my singing voice was horrible, I sang at the top of my lungs as I drove down a side street with Peacock's Dry Cleaners to my right. Life couldn't be any more perfect right now.

The traffic light changed to yellow as I approached. I probably could have made it but decided not to tempt fate. The dry cleaners closed at four, and the building was dark except for one dim light inside. There were no Christmas lights or decorations of any kind, and I shook my head in disgust. The entire building appeared forlorn and lonely. Lawrence Peacock was about my grandmother's age, and everyone knew that he would never retire. He'd owned the business for as long as I could remember and grumbled every year that Christmas did nothing but make the electric company richer.

The inside of the car was stuffy, so I rolled my window down partway for some air. As I waited for the light to change, the baby kicked. I smiled and sighed, reaching a hand down to my belly. I would never get tired of feeling that little person move inside me.

"Hey there. You are going to come out before Christmas, right? Your daddy and I can't wait to meet you."

"Get out of the car!"

Puzzled, I looked up to see a man standing next to my car door. A gun was pointed at my head, and the man at the other end of it was none other than Santa Claus. My entire body froze with shock as I stared into a pair of listless dark eyes that eerily resembled the night. I tried to speak, but words stuck in my throat.

"Are you freaking deaf, lady? I said to get out of the car!"

Okay, he didn't actually say freaking—it was a word ten times worse. But that was the least of my worries. My hands, stuck to the steering wheel at the ten and two o'clock positions, had started to shake. A shot rang out, and I screamed. The bullet had gone through my front passenger window, which shattered on impact. Another Santa was standing directly in front of my vehicle. Holy Christmas. I was being carjacked by the big red man himself.



Start Reading GINGER SNAPPED TO DEATH Now

Cookies & Chance Mysteries



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Butterfly Bayou BUTTERFLY BAYOU
by Lexi Blake
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 31, 2020

New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake is back with an all-new heartwarming, small-town contemporary romance series set against the spicy southern Read More »

A charming smalltown romance set in the Louisiana Bayou!

Watch out for the 'gators in this lively love story

Danger in the Deep DANGER IN THE DEEP
by Karen Kirst
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 30, 2020

When buried secrets surface,she’s caught in a criminal’s crosshairs.Aquarium employee Olivia Smith isn’t sure why someone wants Read More »

Danger lurks under the waters of the aquarium

Hello, Summer HELLO, SUMMER
by Mary Kay Andrews
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 29, 2020

New York Times bestselling author and Queen of the Beach Reads Mary Kay Andrews delivers her next blockbuster, Hello Summer. It’s a new Read More »

Summertime Isn't Summertime Without Mary Kay Andrews

Devolution DEVOLUTION
by Max Brooks
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 28, 2020

The #1 bestselling author of World War Z returns with a horror tale that blurs the lines between human and beast, and Read More »

A shaken account from one Bigfoot sighting!

What if Bigfoot was real?

Hideaway HIDEAWAY
by Nora Roberts
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 27, 2020

A family ranch in Big Sur country and a legacy of Hollywood royalty set the stage for Nora Roberts’ emotional new suspense novel. Caitlyn Read More »

Learning to adjust to harsh turns in one's life - a blockbuster of a read!

Her world is shattered, but she will find herself again.

Until the End UNTIL THE END
by Juno Rushdan
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 26, 2020

He's strong. Fierce. Relentless.And he may be her only chance of surviving the night. Gray Box operative Castle Kinkade always gets the job Read More »

Read or Alive READ OR ALIVE
by Nora Page
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 25, 2020

A match-made in cozy heaven for fans of Jenn McKinlay, Kate Carlisle, and book lovers everywhere, Nora Page's third Bookmobile mystery will (book Read More »

An emotionally-charged cozy mystery!

Blackbird Rising BLACKBIRD RISING
by Keri Arthur
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 24, 2020

A modern fantasy novel inspired by the King Arthur legend... For hundreds of years, the Witch King's sword has been buried in stone awaiting Read More »

Will a nefarious force claim the King's sword and crown?

Fantasy, romance and action at its best.

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy