April 1st, 2020
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
THE FINAL DECEPTION
THE FINAL DECEPTION

April showers us with great reads! Stay safe!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


The Fifth Angel Ridge Novel
Bell Bridge Books
November 2012
On Sale: October 29, 2012
Featuring: Frannie Thompson; Patrick Houston
ISBN: 1611942047
EAN: 9781611942040
Kindle: B009YYMQP0
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Kindle

Read Kindle Preview

Barnes & Noble

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

On a snowy night in Angel Ridge, two strangers share an unforgettable kiss.

Years later, Frannie Thompson is back in Angel Ridge to start a new life and a non–profit. When she meets with Patrick Houston, the town's mayor, to request a spot on the agenda of the next meeting of the Town Council, she comes face to face with the man she'd kissed on a snowy night years before. A very married man.

Frannie had been a woman reeling from the loss of her sister, Angel Ridge's newspaper editor, Jenny Thompson (I'll Be There). Patrick had been drowning his sorrows to numb the pain of his wife's cancer and more. Kissing Frannie when he wasn't free had been unforgiveable. But now, with his life on track, he's trying to make amends and raise his children as a sober, single parent. But coming face to face with Frannie again, the intense feelings she stirs have him wondering if he could have a second shot at forever.

Getting a non–profit off the ground and overcoming town opposition requires Frannie's full attention. She doesn't need the distraction of a man who wants to earn her forgiveness and trust. Frannie knows she's wrong for him, but despite her effort to remain focused on her business, her body remembers the promise of passion and Patrick.

Excerpt

"Ms. Thompson? The mayor will see you now. If you'll follow me?"

Frannie stood, and the forgotten folder on her lap slid to the floor. Papers scattered across the carpet. Frannie bit back a curse, then tried to quickly gather and put the papers back in order.

The receptionist came over to lend a hand. "Thank you," Frannie murmured, embarrassed. Not the impression of the slick, professional she'd intended to project today.

"Karen!" a deep voice bellowed. "What's going on? Did she leave?"

"Coming," Karen said.

The mayor's grumbling followed him back into his office.

"I'm sorry," Karen said.

"Is he always this cheerful?" Frannie joked.

The woman just smiled as she handed Frannie the last of the papers. Frannie shoved it all back into the folder and followed Karen to the mayor's office. She didn't need the man cheerful. She just needed a spot on the agenda of the upcoming meeting of the Town Council. On previous visits to Angel Ridge, she'd tried to meet with the mayor and bring him along on her plan, but he was never in. She hadn't worried too much about it because she'd been assured by her architect and contractor, Cole Craig and Blake Ferguson, that the mayor would welcome her project to help revitalize downtown.

Karen knocked on an open door, then entered. "Mayor, this is Ms. Thompson."

Frannie took a few steps into the office. The man had his back to them, typing something on a computer keyboard at the credenza behind his desk. She'd expected an older man with gray hair, but he had the dark hair of someone much younger.

"Yes, yes. Come in and have a seat," he mumbled.

Karen smiled apologetically and retreated.

Frannie stepped into the room, but didn't sit. She waited for the man to face her. When he didn't, she said, "Should we reschedule?"

His sigh was audible. He swiveled his high–backed leather chair to face her.

Frannie took a step back. "You . . ." She found herself face–to–face with the man she'd shared an anonymous make–out session with in the middle of a blizzard that awful winter she'd lost her sister. In the years since that night, she'd done her best to forget. It had been just a kiss, after all, but her body had betrayed her, and the memory of it wouldn't fade. What they'd shared that night had gone beyond a simple kiss. God, how she'd prayed she would never see him again.

Start Reading UNFORGETTABLE Now

Angel Ridge



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Pivot PIVOT
by Kat Martin, Alexandra Ivy, Rebecca Zanetti
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 31, 2020

As girls, they bonded over broken homes and growing up in foster care. As women, they're fighting for their lives, and loves, once moreMERIWhen Read More »

They are willing to risk it all for love.

Three action-packed stories of hope, determination, and love.

Musket Ball Murder MUSKET BALL MURDER
by Leslie Langtry
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 30, 2020

From USA Today bestselling author Leslie Langtry comes a Civil War reenactment, a missing body, and one ex-CIA agent turned Girl Scout Troop leader Read More »

A Killer Reenactment

Historical re-enactments can be deadly

Pivot PIVOT
by Kat Martin, Alexandra Ivy, Rebecca Zanetti
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 29, 2020

As girls, they bonded over broken homes and growing up in foster care. As women, they're fighting for their lives, and loves, once moreMERIWhen Read More »

They are willing to risk it all for love.

Three action-packed stories of hope, determination, and love.

If I Never Met You IF I NEVER MET YOU
by Mhairi McFarlane
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 28, 2020

Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartful romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.If faking Read More »

Love in modern times

My Way To You MY WAY TO YOU
by Catherine Bybee
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 27, 2020

When a wildfire nearly destroys Parker Sinclair’s family home, it’s just one more disaster to add to her mountain of stress Read More »

Heart-stopping action, a great locale, and a whole lot of love!

The Deep THE DEEP
by Alma Katsu
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 26, 2020

From the acclaimed and award-winning author of The Hunger comes an eerie, psychological twist on one of the world's most renowned Read More »

Horror at its finest... steeped in history and folklore!

Her Scandalous Pursuit HER SCANDALOUS PURSUIT
by Candace Camp
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 25, 2020

The long-awaited prequel to the Mad Morelands series—the story of Thisbe, the oldest Moreland daughter.Thisbe Moreland is used to men not Read More »

HER SCANDALOUS PURSUIT is an exciting historical romance with a supernatural twists that will keep reading

Tucker TUCKER
by Emily March
Featured as Fresh Pick on March 24, 2020

In Eternity Springs: The McBrides of Texas, New York Times bestselling author Emily March presents a brand new arc set in the Lone Star State Read More »

The McBrides of Texas saga continues. . .

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy