February 21st, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Melinda LeighMelinda Leigh
Fresh Pick
ADEQUATE YEARLY PROGRESS
ADEQUATE YEARLY PROGRESS

Mardi Gras Giveaways

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Sweet Romance + Thrilling Intrigue = February Best Reads

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Night time can be frightening, especially when you’re all alone.


slideshow image
He wanted revenge but found love instead.


slideshow image
Some promises are meant to be broken, Some vows are forever…


slideshow image
Can the course that they’ve set for the future handle a slight detour...?


slideshow image
The famous bells are ringing a hero’s welcome when a former army captain returns home...


slideshow image
"A cracker of a read—her best yet!"—B. A. Paris


slideshow image
Trading favors, battling wills, and winning love


slideshow image
Bound by love. . .torn apart by secrets.


slideshow image
Will a blackout change everything for these unlikely lovers?


City of Flickering Light by Juliette Fay

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Juliette Fay:

City of Flickering Light, April 2019
Trade Size
The Tumbling Turner Sisters, January 2017
Trade Size (reprint)
The Shortest Way Home, November 2012
Trade Size
Deep Down True, February 2011
Paperback
Shelter Me, January 2009
Paperback

City of Flickering Light
Juliette Fay

Gallery Books
April 2019
On Sale: April 16, 2019
Featuring: Irene Van Beck; Millie Martin; Henry Weiss
400 pages
ISBN: 1501192930
EAN: 9781501192937
Kindle: B07GNSVVQJ
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Historical

Juliette Fay—“one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal)—transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen—perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It’s July 1921, “flickers” are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth—iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating—and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn’t come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

With her “trademark wit and grace” (Randy Susan Meyers, author of The Murderer’s Daughters), Juliette Fay crafts another radiant and fascinating historical novel as thrilling as the bygone era of Hollywood itself.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy