July 23rd, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
SEARCH AND DETECTSEARCH AND DETECT
Fresh Pick
LAKESIDE SECRETS
LAKESIDE SECRETS

New Books This Week

Reader Games

Video Book Club

Latest Articles


July's Best Reads: Dive into Summer's Hottest Page-Turners!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Movie costumer Joey Jessop discovers a Hollywood diva's deadly secrets.


slideshow image
Intelligent. Kind. Must like children. Passable looks. A man of means. Must make us laugh . . .


slideshow image
She won�t quit until she gets justice.
He won�t stop until she�s safe.


slideshow image
Julia Vargas is a cop with a mission.


slideshow image
Every romance needs a bit of mischief. . .


slideshow image
Passion has its own demands...and love, its wondrous possibilities...


Kill or Bee Killed

Kill or Bee Killed, June 2024
Bee Keeping Mystery
by Jennie Marts

Crooked Lane Books
336 pages
ISBN: 1639106588
EAN: 9781639106585
Kindle: B0CH9HTM1S
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"A wonderfully unique cozy read"

Fresh Fiction Review

Kill or Bee Killed
Jennie Marts

Reviewed by Elizabeth Bailey
Posted June 18, 2024

Mystery Cozy

KILL OR BEE KILLED, book two in the Bee Keeping Mystery series has arrived, and I was delighted to open it to start my binge-reading.

 

Bailey sets out to prove her forever bestie is cleared of a murder, and this story is full of the family-loving fun of the first book. Everyone has returned, including Granny Bee and Bailey’s daughter Daisy, which was a highlight for me. I love a good mother-daughter relationship, but I enjoy that it’s a younger experience vs. the older mother-daughter relationship of the usual cozy mystery series out there.

 

Bailey and Daisy's relationship grows a lot, so I was thrilled to explore more of that within the pages as the Hive helps to clear Evie’s good name and keep her out of jail. I also adore the tension between Bailey and the uber-dreamy Sheriff Sawyer Dunn but love the way he’s always the one to pull them out of danger like the true hero he is within this world.

 

I enjoyed this wild ride through Humble Hills and its oh-so-fun whacky residents with a twist I didn’t see coming that kept me flipping the pages. While many cozy mysteries can’t be read as a stand-alone, Ms. Marts has built a wonderful world full of family, fun, and all the cozy mystery fun we’ve come to expect.

 

I cannot wait for book three in this series and look forward to even more stories from Ms. Marts.

Learn more about Kill or Bee Killed

SUMMARY

Perfect for fans of Laura Childs and Amanda Flower, this second Bee Keeping mystery takes Bailey Briggs to the brink as murders threaten the future of her granny’s Bee Festival.

The small town of Humble Hills, Colorado, is abuzz with excitement over the upcoming annual Bee Festival, sponsored by Bailey’s Granny Bee and the Honeybuzz Mountain Ranch. The long weekend of festivities includes a beauty pageant, beekeeping demonstrations, a local restaurant bake-off, and a 3K Bear Run where all the participants are dressed as bears. The bake-off brings in a television crew from California to film, so it’s the most drama-filled part of the weekend, especially when the famous celebrity host winds up dead.

Because the celebrity was holding her bracelet and had been witnessed having an altercation with Bailey’s best friend Evie shortly before his death, everyone suspects Evie of the murder–and Bailey is quickly on the hunt for clues to clear Evie’s name, alongside Granny Bee and her bunch of geriatric misfit friends. Bailey’s potential new honey, Sheriff Sawyer Dunn, is none too pleased to have Bailey buzzing around the investigation, but Bailey’s determined to uncover the truth, rescue her grannie’s beloved Bee Festival, and save her bestie.

They say you get more flies with honey, but in this case, more honey may mean you end up dead. And a little competition never hurt anyone—unless it ends up killing you.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy