January 17th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
A SENSE OF DANGERA SENSE OF DANGER
Fresh Pick
A FLICKER IN THE DARK
A FLICKER IN THE DARK

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Fresh Fiction Podcast

Video Book Club


Kick off a new year with great reads!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A welcome second chance… Or a recipe for disaster?


slideshow image
It might be impossible to put out these flames…Good thing this cowboy can handle the sparks.


slideshow image
Dead To Me.


slideshow image
Rip Roaring Regency Romp


slideshow image
Healing his physical wounds is just the beginning…


slideshow image
After suffering a horrific injury that threatens to end his career, Baden Oulett is about to learn that sometimes a fresh start is just what the doctor ordered.


The King's Mercy by Lori Benton

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Lori Benton:

Shiloh, October 2021
Trade Size / e-Book
Mountain Laurel, September 2020
Trade Size / e-Book
The King's Mercy, June 2019
Trade Size / e-Book
Many Sparrows, September 2017
Trade Size / e-Book
A Flight of Arrows, April 2016
Paperback / e-Book
The Wood's Edge, April 2015
Paperback / e-Book

The King's Mercy
Lori Benton

Waterbrook
June 2019
On Sale: June 4, 2019
Featuring: lex MacKinnon; Joanna Carey
400 pages
ISBN: 1601429967
EAN: 9781601429964
Kindle: B07H73C4J9
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Inspirational Historical | Romance Historical

For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south.

When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king's mercy—exile to the Colony of North Carolina—he's indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey's slaves—and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant's heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father's overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the Careys, now a prisoner of the Cherokees.

Haunted by his abandoning of Joanna, Alex tries to settle into life with the Cherokees, until circumstances thwart yet another attempt to forge his freedom and he's faced with the choice that's long hounded him: continue down his rebellious path or embrace the faith of a man like Pauling, whose freedom in Christ no man can steal. But the price of such mercy is total surrender, and perhaps Alex's very life.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy