August 4th, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
ENAMOREDENAMORED
Fresh Pick
HOW TO START A SCANDAL
HOW TO START A SCANDAL

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Your August adventures in reading

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Buy all five books in the Great Library


slideshow image
Sometimes the smallest secret creates the biggest ripple of trouble.


slideshow image
When she holds the key to the one case he couldn’t solve, he must choose justice or love.


slideshow image
They must risk everything-- before it’s too late…


slideshow image
A meeting of minds…But a most unsuitable match!


slideshow image
He has nothing and everything to lose…


slideshow image
His former lover has returned with an explosive secret.


slideshow image
Buy all five books in the Great Library, now in paperback


The Invisibles
Cecilia Galante

William Morrow
August 2015
On Sale: August 4, 2015
400 pages
ISBN: 0062363514
EAN: 9780062363510
Kindle: B00PFXIGHQ
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fiction Women's Fiction | Women's Fiction

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship—a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.

Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don’t look back.

Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of “first lines” (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn’t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.

The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves? And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on? 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy