December 7th, 2023
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Kathy LyonsKathy Lyons
Fresh Pick
HER WOLF FOR THE HOLIDAYS
HER WOLF FOR THE HOLIDAYS

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Holiday Giveaways


December's Must-Reads: Top Books to Close Out the Year with a Bang

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Reporter Emma Cross confronts high society and murder at a 1900s Newport yacht gathering.


slideshow image
Unraveling a secret aboard the missing Goliath, where history collides with present danger.


slideshow image
Undercover agents at a holiday party face unexpected danger and a budding romance.


slideshow image
Lord Julian unravels a dangerous mystery to reveal a child's heritage as well as his own birthright.


slideshow image
Uncovering the truth: A determined mother, a torn DA, and a dark mystery.


slideshow image
A Ukrainian medic and a Marine sniper's perilous mission ignites unexpected passion amid danger.


A Season of Monstrous Conceptions
Lina Rather

Tordotcom
November 2023
On Sale: October 31, 2023
160 pages
ISBN: 1250884012
EAN: 9781250884015
Kindle: B0BSD3MVY9
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fantasy Historical

Lina Rather's A Season of Monstrous Conceptions is an eldritch historical fantasy of midwifery, monstrosity, and the rending of the world, for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Death of Jane Lawrence.


In 17th-century London, unnatural babies are being born, with eyes made for the dark and webbed digits suited to the sea.

Sarah Davis is intimately familiar with such strangeness—having hidden her uncanny nature all her life and fled to London under suspicious circumstances, Sarah starts over as a midwife’s apprentice to a member of the illegal Worshipful Company of Midwives, hoping to carve out for herself an independent life. But with each new unnatural birth, the fear in London grows of the Devil's work.

When the wealthy Lady Wren hires her to see her through her pregnancy, Sarah quickly becomes a favorite of her husband, the famous architect Lord Christopher Wren, whose interest in the uncanny borders on obsession. Sarah soon finds herself caught in a web of magic and intrigue created by those who want to use her power for themselves, and whose pursuits threaten to unmake the earth itself.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2023 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy