February 1st, 2023
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
SUGAR PLUM SPIESSUGAR PLUM SPIES
Fresh Pick
THE THREE LIVES OF ALIX ST. PIERRE
THE THREE LIVES OF ALIX ST. PIERRE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club

Valentine Giveaways


Sweet Reads in February

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Anti-drug activists are being sabotaged by the very substance they abhor. Kindle Unlimited


slideshow image
The homicide cop with a passion for justice returns!


slideshow image
First in new series


slideshow image
A bomber on the loose, are they the next victims?


slideshow image
Her deal with the tycoon from her past will save her from destitution!


slideshow image
A fun foray into the London Season; Her lessons in flirtation…Could work too well!


The Last Resort
Michael Kaufman

Jen Lu #2
Crooked Lane Books
January 2023
On Sale: January 10, 2023
ISBN: 1639102078
EAN: 9781639102075
Kindle: B09XM5KQV7
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Thriller Techno | Mystery Police Procedural

Perfect for fans of Ben Winters, Jen Lu is back on the case when the murder of a lawyer sparks an even larger conspiracy in Michael Kaufman’s second book in the thrilling series.

It’s March 2034, six months after D.C. police detective Jen Lu and Chandler, her sentient bio-computer implanted in her brain, cracked the mystery of Eden. The climate crisis is hitting harder than ever: a mega-hurricane has devastated the eco-system and waves of refugees pour into Washington, D.C. The rich live forever while the desperate scramble for the modified longevity treatment.
 
Then, the death of lawyer and media darling Patty Fernandez signals a glaring red flag to a wider conspiracy. Fernandez won a court case for massive climate change reparations to be paid out by oil, gas, and coal companies. Jen and Chandler are called in to crack the case. Signs point to Fernandez’s ex, James Culpepper, a former oil giant but as Jen and Chandler dig deeper, they turn up more suspects who might have an even greater motive for killing Fernandez.
 
Jen’s search puts her in the crosshairs of those who will ensure the truth never comes to light, no matter the cost. As she continues to delve deeper into the seedy underbelly of the city, she has to move quickly before she becomes next on the killer’s list.

Jen Lu

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2023 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy