September 25th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
ADVERSE POSSESSIONADVERSE POSSESSION
Fresh Pick
NEVER SAW ME COMING
NEVER SAW ME COMING

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Best reads for September

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A sidesplitting, enemies-to-lovers 101 Dalmatians-inspired romantic comedy


slideshow image
Cowboys live by their word, their wits, and their loyalty.


slideshow image
How much will she risk to keep her perfect life?


slideshow image
Garrett will use every tender weapon to seduce her—and prove she’s worthy of true love.


slideshow image
The Albertini family has no intention of letting a possible romance fizzle out


slideshow image
Lady Mary's traveling companion has disappeared and only one man believes she ever existed.


The Lost Girl of Berlin by Ella Carey

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Ella Carey:

The Lost Girl of Berlin, July 2021
Paperback / e-Book
A New York Secret, March 2021
Paperback / e-Book
The Things We Don't Say, January 2019
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
The Things We Don't Say, July 2018
Hardcover / e-Book
Secret Shores, September 2017
Trade Size / e-Book
From a Paris Balcony, October 2016
Paperback / e-Book
The House by the Lake, April 2016
Paperback / e-Book
The Paris Time Capsule, April 2014
Paperback / e-Book

The Lost Girl of Berlin
Ella Carey

Gripping and heart-wrenching World War 2 historical fiction

Daughters of New York #2
Bookouture
July 2021
On Sale: July 12, 2021
Featuring: Kate Mancini; Rick Shearer; Mia Stein
ISBN: 1800192177
EAN: 9781800192171
Kindle: B093L63KG4
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Romance Historical | Women's Fiction Historical

The truck stopped for a moment in the freezing, bombed-out street and Kate caught sight of a little girl in a ragged dress on the steps of a once-beautiful mansion. The child’s eyes were startling blue, a pair of endless pools, drawing Kate towards her…

1946, Berlin. War correspondent Kate Mancini is in Germany, reporting on the aftermath of the devastating war. For her readers back home in New York, she tells the stories of innocent families, trying to rebuild the wreckage of their lives now the soldiers have left at last. But in the Russian-held sector of Berlin on an icy winter’s day, Kate breaks all the rules, rescuing Mia Stein, a silent orphan who she fears will otherwise perish.

Together with her fellow journalist, handsome Rick Shearer, Kate manages to find a safe house for Mia before she returns to America and vows to keep in touch. Back home, the reality of post-war life for women is stark. Whilst Rick walks into his dream job, no newspaper will hire a woman. The editors laugh her out of their offices, telling her to get married and raise a family. Rick does all he can to support her, as she takes her first steps towards the new medium of television news, and their friendship deepens into something more.

Then tragedy strikes: Rick is falsely named as a communist sympathizer. He is arrested, blacklisted and faces prison.

Kate knows she must do all she can to free the man she loves. But that means returning to Germany, to seek out the little orphan girl who is her only chance at salvation. Kate and Rick saved Mia—will she help them both now? And even if Kate succeeds, freedom might never be hers when she returns home…

From Amazon Charts bestseller Ella Carey comes an utterly heartbreaking historical novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love and friendships that sustain us in the darkest of days. Fans of Fiona Davis, All the Light We Cannot See and My Name is Eva will be totally captivated.

Daughters of New York

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy