August 10th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Tracy WolffTracy Wolff
Fresh Pick
DANCE WITH THE DEVIL
DANCE WITH THE DEVIL

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club

YouTube


Hot Hot reads in August

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A mysterious story of inter-generational trauma.


slideshow image
For a woman obsessed and a killer in her shadow, remembering the past becomes a mind game in a novel of psychological suspense


slideshow image
Danger and Mistletoe are a Deadly Combination


slideshow image
Danger and Mistletoe are a Deadly Combination


slideshow image
Vicious evil stalks two Guardians of Eternity, waiting to attack where they never expected . . .


slideshow image
New state. New job. Same inner demons.


slideshow image
A shapeshifter and member of the Blackfoot tribe, rescues a beautiful woman, but the signs in the stars tell him her arrival in his world is not accidental.


slideshow image
Must he kill her to punish the murderer?


Where the Truth Lies
Anna Bailey

Atria Books
August 2021
On Sale: August 3, 2021
384 pages
ISBN: 198215716X
EAN: 9781982157166
Kindle: B08LDWMRNC
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Other Editions
Trade Size (July 2022)

Coming of Age | Thriller

When a teenaged girl disappears from an insular small town, all of the community’s most devastating secrets come to light in this stunningly atmospheric and slow-burning suspense novel—perfect for fans of Megan Miranda and Celeste Ng.

The town of Whistling Ridge guards its secrets.

When seventeen-year-old Abigail goes missing, her best friend Emma, compelled by the guilt of leaving her alone at a party in the woods, sets out to discover the truth about what happened. The police initially believe Abi ran away, but Emma doesn't believe that her friend would leave without her, and when officers find disturbing evidence in the nearby woods, the festering secrets and longstanding resentment of both Abigail’s family and the people of Whistling Ridge, Colorado begin to surface with devastating consequences.

Among those secrets: Abi's older brother Noah’s passionate, dangerous love for the handsome Rat, a recently arrived Romanian immigrant who has recently made his home in the trailer park in town; her younger brother Jude's feeling that he knows information he should tell the police, if only he could put it into words; Abi's father's mercurial, unpredictable rages and her mother's silence. Then there is the rest of Whistling Ridge, where a charismatic preacher advocates for God's love in language that mirrors violence, under the sway of the powerful businessman who rules the town, insular and wary of outsiders.

But Abi had secrets, too, and the closer Emma grows to unraveling the past, the farther she feels from her friend. And in a tinder box of small-town rage, and all it will take is just one spark—the truth of what really happened that night—to change their community forever.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy