June 14th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
BAILED OUTBAILED OUT
Fresh Pick
THE GHOST AND THE HAUNTED PORTRAIT
THE GHOST AND THE HAUNTED PORTRAIT

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Pick up great June books for summer reading

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A theme-park princess. A real-life prince.


slideshow image
Can two stubborn adults let down their guard long enough to let love in again?


slideshow image
A modern-day fairy tale of hope and rescue from NYT bestselling author Rachel Hauck


slideshow image
A journey to the lush vineyards of Tuscany—and into the mysteries of a tragic family secret.


slideshow image
Can a one-time enemy to protect them?


slideshow image
When the battle is for love, the one who surrenders wins. But who will lay down arms first? And whose heart will break wide open?


Sad Janet
Lucie Britsch

Riverhead Books
June 2021
On Sale: June 15, 2021
288 pages
ISBN: 0593086538
EAN: 9780593086537
Kindle: B084D5FGGP
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fiction Family Life

 

A whip-smart black comedy for fans of The New Me and My Year of Rest and Relaxation

Named one of the Best Books of the Summer by LitHub, The Millions, Refinery29, and Hey Alma.

'Surprising and irreverent...Be prepared for edginess, dark humor and profanity. The only sweet thing about "Sad Janet" is its cover, which might be the most adorable one I've seen all year' New York Times

'Hilarious, wicked, wise and tender' - Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney, bestselling author of The Nest


***

Meet Janet. Janet is sad. Not about her life, about the world. Have you seen it these days?

The thing is, she's not out to make anyone else sad. She's not turning up to weddings shouting that most marriages end in divorce. She just wants to wear her giant coat, get rid of her passive-aggressive boyfriend, and avoid human interaction at the rundown dog shelter where she works.

That is, until word spreads about a new pill that promises cynics like her one day off from being sad. When her family stages an intervention, and the prospect of making it through Christmas alone seems like too much, Janet finally decides to give them what they want. What follows is life-changing for all concerned - in ways no one quite expects.

Hilarious, provocative and profound, Sad Janet is the antidote to our happiness-obsessed world.

***

PRAISE FOR SAD JANET:

'If you're a Halle Butler fan or like despair cut with humour, you'll love this' Leigh Stein, author of SELF CARE

'As I was reading this, my partner kept asking why I was laughing. This book is dark and hilarious and will speak to everyone who's ever wondered why they spend time with humans and not just dogs' Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Starling Days and Harmless Like You

'A tragicomic riot of a book - charging, foul-mouthed and tender, across the modern condition' Claudia Dey, author of Heartbreaker

'Try reading Sad Janet ... It might just make you happy' Marcy Demansky, author of Very Nice

'A biting, pitch-perfect novel about one woman's desire to stay true to herself in a world that rewards facile happiness ... a dazzling debut' Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney


'The narrative voice of Janet in Britsch's debut novel is a skin-tingling combination of new and necessary' Booklist starred review

'Loved this book... it made me lol via the dark humour and dry observations. An artful take on the "happiness economy"' Emma Gannon, author of Olive

'I loved SAD JANET'S cynical humour. Superbly original, with spot-on one-liners. Brilliantly bleak, but with a spark of hope' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults

 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy