July 23rd, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LORD SATYRLORD SATYR
Fresh Pick
FALLING IN LOVE ON WILLOW CREEK
FALLING IN LOVE ON WILLOW CREEK

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Summer reading in July you need to start

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Can a fairy garden shop owner and her sleuth fairy sidekick solve this murder?


slideshow image
Someone in London is cooking up murder …


slideshow image
Sometimes the biggest emotional risk reaps the best romantic reward…


slideshow image
A riveting new novel about family, secrets, and a woman ready to embrace who she really is by facing down her past.


slideshow image
Now in paperback! New York Times bestseller Cleo Coyle's "delightfully twisty" Coffeehouse Mystery


slideshow image
The Demon Hunters are about to face their biggest test, and they’ll need a lady to make the grade…


Natural History
Carlos Fonseca

Picador
July 2021
On Sale: July 13, 2021
320 pages
ISBN: 125079854X
EAN: 9781250798541
Kindle: B07Y73R459
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Literature and Fiction Literary

From Carlos Fonseca comes a dazzling, kaleidoscopic epic of art, politics, and hidden realities

Just before the dawn of the new millennium, a curator at a New Jersey museum of natural history receives an unusual invitation from a celebrated fashion designer. She shares the curator's fascination with the hidden forms of the animal kingdom—with camouflage and subterfuge—and she proposes that they collaborate on an exhibition, the form of which itself remains largely obscure, even as they enter into a strange relationship marked by evasion and elision.

Seven years later, after the death of the designer, the curator recovers the archive of their never-completed project. During a long night of insomnia, he finds within the archive a series of clues to the true story of the designer’s family, a mind-bending puzzle that winds from Haifa, Israel, to bohemian 1970s New York to the Latin American jungle. On the way, he discovers a cast of characters whose own fixations interrogate the unstable frontiers between art, science, politics, and religion: an aging photographer, living nearly alone in an abandoned mining town where subterranean fires rage without end, who creates models of ruined cities; a former model turned conceptual artist—and a defendant in a trial over the very nature and purpose of art; a young indigenous boy who has received a vision of the end of the world. Reality is a curtain, as the curator realizes, and to draw it back is to reveal the theater of obsession.

Natural History is the portrait of a world trapped between faith and irony, between tragedy and farce. A defiantly contemporary and impressively ambitious novel in the tradition of Italo Calvino and Ricardo Piglia, it confirms Carlos Fonseca as one of the most daring writers of his generation.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy