June 14th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LORD ARESLORD ARES
Fresh Pick
THE GHOST AND THE HAUNTED PORTRAIT
THE GHOST AND THE HAUNTED PORTRAIT

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Pick up great June books for summer reading

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A theme-park princess. A real-life prince.


slideshow image
Can two stubborn adults let down their guard long enough to let love in again?


slideshow image
A modern-day fairy tale of hope and rescue from NYT bestselling author Rachel Hauck


slideshow image
A journey to the lush vineyards of Tuscany—and into the mysteries of a tragic family secret.


slideshow image
Can a one-time enemy to protect them?


slideshow image
When the battle is for love, the one who surrenders wins. But who will lay down arms first? And whose heart will break wide open?


Haven Point
Virginia Hume

St. Martin's Press
June 2021
On Sale: June 8, 2021
384 pages
ISBN: 1250266521
EAN: 9781250266521
Kindle: B08FZ7S4M5
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction Historical | Saga

A sweeping debut novel by Virginia Hume about the generations of a family that spends summers in a seaside enclave on Maine's rocky coastline, for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Beatriz Williams, and Sarah Blake.

In 1944, Maren Larsen is a blonde beauty from a small Minnesota farming town, determined to do her part to help the war effort––and to see the world beyond her family’s cornfields. As a cadet nurse at Walter Reed Medical Center, she’s swept off her feet by Dr. Oliver Demarest, a handsome Boston Brahmin whose family spends summers in an insular community on the rocky coast of Maine.

Maren soon discovers that the residents of Haven Point are skeptical of newcomers, and their quick wartime marriage raises eyebrows. Although the chilly reception gives her pause, Maren can’t deny the charm of the old house on the cliff, and she vows to make Oliver’s family her own.

But during the summer of 1970, tragedy strikes otherwise idyllic Haven Point––and in the aftermath, Oliver and Maren’s seventeen-year-old daughter, Annie, vows never to return.

Nearly fifty years later, Maren’s granddaughter, Skye, has arrived in Maine to help scatter Annie’s ashes. Maren knows that Skye inherited her mother’s view of Haven Point, and that she finds the place––and the people––snobbish and petty. But she also knows that Annie never told her daughter the whole truth about what happened that fateful summer.

Over seven decades of a changing America, through wars and storms, betrayals and reconciliations, Haven Point explores what it means to belong to a place, and to a family, which holds as tight to its traditions as it does its secrets.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy