June 24th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
QUINNQUINN
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
ISLE OF SHADOWS

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Fall in love with June books!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Just when things are getting back to normal in Booktown, Tricia and Angelica have their lives turned upside down...


slideshow image
"A fantastic frenemies-to-forever love story" --RT Book Reviews


slideshow image
Blood might be thicker than water, but venom is stronger than just about anything...


slideshow image
Brant Wylder has planned for every eventuality. Becoming a father wasn't on his list.


slideshow image
A brand new spin-off from NY Times & USA Today bestselling romance series, The Billionaire's Obsession.


slideshow image
In another life there was love and war. From it, a single sin haunts one man.


Night Fall

Night Fall, June 2018
Secret Histories #12
by Simon R. Green

Ace
464 pages
ISBN: 0451476972
EAN: 9780451476975
Kindle: B075HY5PWM
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Will anyone survive when the Droods go to war with the Nightside?"

Fresh Fiction Review

Night Fall
Simon R. Green

Reviewed by Debbie Wiley
Posted June 12, 2018

Science Fiction | Fantasy

The Droods see it as their family duty to maintain order and fight evil that occurs in the world. For centuries, they have left the Nightside alone, allowing that hidden otherworldly realm that lurks within London and where anything can and will happen. Ancient pacts have kept the two separate, but now the Nightside has intruded on the rest of the world by mysteriously expanding its boundaries. The Droods now deem the Nightside a threat. What will happen when the Droods go to war with the Nightside?

NIGHT FALL is the twelfth and concluding book in the Secret Histories series. However, for Simon R. Green fans NIGHT FALL is so much more as it ties together characters from two of his other series, the Ghost Findersand most importantly the Nightside series. There are also references to his SHADOWS FALL book, which is the only one of those mentioned I'm not familiar with. I would highly suggest having at least some familiarity with both the Secret Histories series as well as the Nightside series in order to fully enjoy and appreciate NIGHT FALL.

I admit that it's with more than a little sadness that I finished reading NIGHT FALL as I'm sorry to see the conclusion of some of my favorite series. I also have to admit that I sneaked a peek at the end as Simon R. Green makes it clear that no character is safe when the Droods and the Nightside go to war. No spoilers, but I'm still reeling from shock over some of the deaths, much as I did after the conclusion of the last Harry Potter book. Yes, it's just that shocking for fans of the Secret Histories and Nightside series.

One of the aspects I liked the most about NIGHT FALL is that Simon R. Green doesn't favor the Secret Histories characters simply because the book is listed under that series and not the Nightside series. Instead, the Nightside gives as good as it gets, taking on the Droods with all the trickery we'd expect from this dark side of London. Even in the face of the seemingly hopeless task of defeating the Droods, the characters in the Nightside stand firm and fight as best they know how. Fans of Dead Boy and Julien Advent will particularly appreciate their involvement.

NIGHT FALL is the book all Simon R. Green fans have been waiting for- and the one we've all dreaded as well. Saying goodbye to beloved characters is never easy but Simon R. Green tackles the issue just how we'd expect Eddie Drood, John Taylor, Shotgun Suzie, Molly Metcalf, and the rest of the Droods and the Nightside to handle it. We get to see a glimpse of all the characters we've grown to love, from the main characters right down to William the Librarian and his rabbit, Pookah. Simon R. Green knocks this one out of the ballpark as NIGHT FALL concludes both series with just the right kind of urban fantasy mayhem we had hoped for. I look forward to the next adventures Simon R. Green has in store for us as he moves on to new worlds and new characters.

Learn more about Night Fall

SUMMARY

From the New York Times bestselling author of Moonbreaker comes the epic final Secret Histories adventure, where the Droods will take on the most unexpected of enemies: the inhabitants of the Nightside.

The Droods are all about control, making people do what they're told for the greater good. The Nightside is all about choice: good and bad and everything in between. The Droods want to make the world behave. The Nightside wants to party. They were never going to get along.

For centuries, ancient Pacts have kept the Droods out of the Nightside, but now the Droods see the Nightside as a threat to the whole world. They march into the long night, in their armour, to put it under their control. All too soon, the two sides are at war. It's Eddie Drood and Molly Metcalf against John Taylor and Shotgun Suzie. The Drood Sarjeant-at-Arms and their Armourer against Dead Boy and Razor Eddie. More groups join in: the London Knights, the Ghost Finders, the Spawn of Frankenstein, Shadows Fall, and the Soulhunters. Science and magic are running wild, there's blood running in the gutters, and the bodies are piling up.
    
Is anyone going to get out of this alive?


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+