February 12th, 2016
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
ACCELERATEACCELERATE
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
THE PEACOCK THRONE

Reviewer Application


Love is in the Air in February!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Out of rehab and ready for a new start…


slideshow image
A compelling novel about one woman’s search for the truth.


slideshow image
Marrying for the baby's sake


slideshow image
His touch could destroy her...


slideshow image
An extra-sharp tongued cheese critic is cut down during a cheese festival.


slideshow image
Big, tough, sexy…and trouble.


slideshow image
As hot as they come!


Latest Buzz

Submit Your News

Lindsay McKenna | Support Vets with purchase of new boxed Set of SEALs

Three New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling authors have joined forces to give back to the military veterans who have given so much to their country. Lindsay McKenna, Chris Keniston and Susan Stoker bring you SAVED BY A SEAL, a first in series box set. Join these authors and their SEAL heroes from the very beginning of their bestselling romance Read More...



* * *

"It was a dark and stormy night..." Using setting in story

It was a dark and stormy night... Ah, yes. The trite opening line that even Snoopy, in his Great Writer persona, used to set the stage for his novel. Why? Because setting, when used to the fullest advantage, is an important element of a writer’s toolbox. What would Rebecca be without the mysterious and austere Manderley? Would Star Wars be the same in a galaxy just around the corner from Earth? The Read More...



* * *

A Short History of Iron in Architecture

For those of you interested in history, here’s bits of 19th century architectural and structural happenings during the Industrial Revolution. Fire burned down architect Joseph Paxton’s Crystal Palace. It was built in London’s Hyde Park to house The Great Exhibition of 1851, the first all glass and iron modular structure built at the time of the Industrial Revolution. Read More...



* * *

Magnolia Smith | Assassins And Wine: The Stuff Of Scandal

I have been a fan of ABC’s Scandal from day one. Why? Because it is one of the few books or films that combines swoon-worthy assassins and wine into a lovely, entertaining cinematic package. I love books and films that incorporate espionage and political intrigue into the plot, throw in one of my favorite cities – Washington DC and a protagonist who is always Read More...



* * *

Jade Lee | My Favorite Winter Pick Me Up!

It’s cold where I live. There’s snow on the ground and my cat spends her days on my lap even when I have to reach over her back to type. Her favorite thing to do is go outside for a while and get nice and cold. Then she runs inside and worms her chilly, wet nose to some part of my body. Her favorite spots are under my shirt against my belly or Read More...



* * *

Susan Meier New DUET…or is it?

When I began the duet, The Princes of Xaviera, I thought I’d do something fun with two princes who are forced into marriages of convenience. As part of a treaty, the first prince, Dominic, is promised to marry a princess from Grennady, but he gets a one-night stand (Ginny) pregnant and their child will be heir to Xaviera’s throne. So Dom and Read More...



* * *

Karen Kingsbury Options 'Baxter' Series for TV

Christian romance writer Karen Kingsbury signed the deal of a lifetime with THE BIBLE star and producer Roma Downey. Kingsbury's popular 'The Baxters' series makes a perfect addition to the growing faith and family-based market hungry for stories that are both Read More...



* * *

Avery Aames | Meet Charlotte

What? You don’t know about the Cheese Shop Mysteries? How is that possible? The first won the Agatha Award for best first novel, plus it’s a nationally bestselling cozy mystery series, and the 7th in the series is coming out February 2016. Let my protagonist Charlotte Bessette tell you a bit about the series. Welcome to my town! Providence Read More...



* * *

Gail Ingis | FLEDGING LOVE: a short story

Here's a bit of a new story Gail has written... Breathless, Emma dragged her disheveled self from the water’s edge. Her hair dripped sand into her eyes. She clawed herself away from the drag of the next wave that crashed on the rocks. It broke into softer splashes over her. She stared into the water’s foam and listened to the sounds of waves crashing and... Read More...



* * *

Exclusive Excerpt from FUDGE BROWNIES & MURDER

FUDGE BROWNIES & MURDER is the newest release in the Culinary Competition Mystery Series. It’s winter in Kellerton, Michigan and there is a cold-blooded killer on the loose. Can Amy find the murderer while planning a baby shower along with baking endless pans of brownies to keep her best friend’s pregnancy cravings Read More...



* * *

A New Dance...?

Bachata musicians and dancers have overcome many struggles over the course of the genre’s often overlooked history. BACHATA: A LATIN RHYTHM DANCE Dance, all kinds, always fun, challenging and curious. Where did it all come from? All the dances have history, but I was curious recently, when I was asked if I knew the Bachata. I asked, “What is that?” It’s a rhythm dance. Born in the Dominican Republic Read More...



* * *

Love to read ROMANCE? Want FREE(ISH)** BOOKS?

If you said yes to both questions, please consider signing up to judge The Carolyn Readers Choice Award contest. The North Texas chapter of Romance Writers of America is looking for approximately 250-300 romance readers to help choose winners in five romance sub-categories. To be eligible, you must be 18 years of age or older and Read More...



* * *

PBS To Air Behind the Scenes Special of 'Hamilton' Musical

I'm sure many of you cannot turn a corner without someone you know referencing the musical sensation "Hamilton" based on the book HAMILTON. Read More...



* * *

Avon Kicks Off 75th Anniversary With Diamond Celebration

A leading voice in romance, Avon, announced this week a blow out celebration for their 75th anniversary. The Read More...



* * *

Stories could be set in this city, once a small fishing village . . .

Sarasota: Culture & Circus Stuffed with people and culture today, I can’t imagine Sarasota, Florida, once was a small fishing village with only a few hundred people at the turn of the 20th century. Charles N. Thompson was the manager of Ringling Brothers Circus in the 1890s. He checked out the village and bought a 154 acre track for $1650, then later added 30 acres more. Dresses for dancing cost that much Read More...



* * *

Gail Ingis | March Of The Past: St. Augustine

St. Augustine, the oldest continuous settlement in America, a location for your story? The Casa Monica Hotel, its history and culture flaunts the visitor to St. Augustine, Florida, where the city is celebrating the past 450 years. The Spanish founded it in 1513, but by 1564 the French took over, only to step back in 1565 when the Spanish arrived again. They conquered the French garrison on the St. Johns River and held Read More...



* * *

Where Are The Best Holiday Lights This Year?

"Crowds fill the streets in front of retailer windows in New York City as the stores vie for viewers of their Christmas displays. Macy’s started the tradition in 1883 when it debuted an animated shop window. This was followed by stores in other states across the country, but we’re only talking New York City here. This tradition is also in lobby’s of major hotels and office buildings: the Palace, the Harley Read More...



* * *

Gail Ingis | Inspiration in the Sky

This week, Gail Ingis writes about her inspiration from fireworks. Inspired by the fireworks, and my painting project of Coney Island, I’m writing a few memories. Those fireworks bring back more than memories.Inspired by the fireworks, and my painting project of Coney Island, I’m writing a few Read More...



* * *

Sharon Hamilton | BAND OF BACHELORS: LUCAS Is Available on Audio

BAND OF BACHELORS: LUCAS is out on audio! We’re happy to celebrate another great audio recording from the Hamilton/Hart Romance Team. Audio listeners rave about J.D. Hart’s buttery narration and sexy portrayal of Read More...



* * *

Charlaine Harris Takes MIDNIGHT, TEXAS to NBC

Fans of Charlaine Harris's MIDNIGHT, TEXAS series are in luck! The Texas-based author just announced a partnership with NBC to adapt the series for the small screen. This will be the third book series Harris has had made into a TV version. According to EW.com, NBC Read More...



* * *

Pox on you!

During the period where I set almost all my western romances (1870-1885), disease killed so many people. Even the common ones like chicken pox took about 150 lives each year. Not a lot was known about diseases and each epidemic caused wide-spread panic. People often mistook chicken pox for small pox which was among the deadliest afflictions. Many didn’t see any distinction between them. In my December 1st book, Read More...



* * *

Author Jackie Collins Dies at 77 After Battling Breast Cancer

Over the weekend news broke that famed romance author Jackie Collins passed away after a six year battle with breast cancer on Saturday, September 19th. The 77 year old published over 36 novels during her four decade career, primarily focusing on the inner workings of the rich and famous. She is survived by her three adult daughters. According to PEOPLE Collins chose to keep Read More...



* * *

Read an Excerpt from DODGING TEMPTATION by Avery Flynn

About DODGING TEMPTATION You can't hide from love...or revenge. Dodge Loving wants revenge...and he's about to get it. On the cusp of closing a multi- billion-dollar luxury resort deal, Dodge can't afford for anything go wrong. But then a fiery redhead shows up, the paparazzi hot on her trail, and throws his world into Read More...



* * *

Read an Exclusive Excerpt from BAND OF BACHELORS: LUCAS by Sharon Hamilton

Sharon Hamilton's BAND OF BACHELORS: LUCAS is available for pre-order on Amazon. BAND OF BACHELORS: LUCAS is the first full-length novel in a new sub-series of the SEAL Brotherhood world! It can be read as a stand Read More...



* * *

1 - 24 of 1177 ( First | more Fresh Buzz )

Submit Your News

 

Barnes & Noble

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2003-2016 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+