July 23rd, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
CONQUER THE KINGDOMCONQUER THE KINGDOM
Fresh Pick
LAKESIDE SECRETS
LAKESIDE SECRETS

New Books This Week

Reader Games

Video Book Club

Latest Articles


July's Best Reads: Dive into Summer's Hottest Page-Turners!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Movie costumer Joey Jessop discovers a Hollywood diva's deadly secrets.


slideshow image
Intelligent. Kind. Must like children. Passable looks. A man of means. Must make us laugh . . .


slideshow image
She won�t quit until she gets justice.
He won�t stop until she�s safe.


slideshow image
Julia Vargas is a cop with a mission.


slideshow image
Every romance needs a bit of mischief. . .


slideshow image
Passion has its own demands...and love, its wondrous possibilities...


The Corpse In the Closet

The Corpse In the Closet, April 2024
Riley Thorn
by Lucy Score

Bloom Books
452 pages
ISBN: 1728295181
EAN: 9781728295183
Kindle: B098XMBYB9
Trade Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Fabulous 2nd Book in Riley Thorn Series"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Corpse In the Closet
Lucy Score

Reviewed by S. Lyn Collins
Posted April 12, 2024

Romance Suspense | Romance Comedy

In advance of the July 2024 release of the fourth book in Lucy Score’s RILEY THORN series, the first three books are being re-issued in March, April, and May. The second book THE CORPSE IN THE CLOSET picks up just after THE DEAD GUY NEXT DOOR ends with psychic Riley Thorn and her sexy Private Investigator boyfriend Nick Santiago starting new cases and settling in as a couple. Nick’s former partner, Detective Kellen Weber, asks Riley to consult on a murder case involving a rich trophy wife who was also building a social media influencer following before she was found dead in the closet of her mansion. Nick also works on a case of an unlikable divorced man who suddenly disappears with his cat. Along for the ride are the same cast of weirdos from the first book including sex-crazed octogenarians, Riley’s narcissistic ex-husband, and her family of psychics. New members of the family are introduced as well. To get all the jokes and references, the books should be read as a series and in order. A must-read for fans of Janet Evanovich or Darynda Jones. 

Learn more about The Corpse In the Closet

SUMMARY

Summer is heating up for reluctant psychic Riley Thorn and her handsome private investigator boyfriend, Nick Santiago.

First, her disapproving grandmother arrives determined to make Riley take her powers seriously or face the wrath of “the Guild.” Then there’s the homicide detective who needs her help figuring out who murdered the well-dressed corpse in the walk-in closet.

Nick’s got his own hands full with a tricky missing person case and his parents who want to know why he didn’t tell them about his live-in girlfriend. Then there’s the fact that he’s still the tiniest bit stressed about Riley almost getting murdered earlier that summer. The last thing he wants is her getting involved in another investigation.

Things go from bad to worse when the body count starts stacking up, the meet-the-parents dinner goes horribly wrong, and their elderly roommate is up to no good…dressed like a mime.

To top it off, Riley is forced to return to Channel 50 on official police business to question her spray-tanned news anchor ex-husband and his new weather girl fiancée.

The trouble comes to a head when Riley receives a warning from the killer: Back off or she’s next. Someone has to solve these murders before she becomes the next corpse.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy