April 14th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Tara Taylor QuinnTara Taylor Quinn
Fresh Pick
THE DEAD GUY NEXT DOOR
THE DEAD GUY NEXT DOOR

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

April Showers Giveaways


April's Affections and Intrigues: Love and Mystery Bloom

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Investigating a conspiracy really wasn't on Nikki's very long to-do list.


slideshow image
Escape to the Scottish Highlands in this enemies to lovers romance!


slideshow image
It�s not the heat�it�s the pixie dust.


slideshow image
They have a perfect partnership�
But an attempt on her life changes everything.


slideshow image
Jealousy, Love, and Murder: The Ancient Games Turn Deadly


slideshow image
Secret Identity, Small Town Romance
Available 4.15.24


The Someday Daughter

The Someday Daughter, February 2024
by Ellen O'Clover

HarperTeen
336 pages
ISBN: 0063255081
EAN: 9780063255081
Kindle: B0C61YS43P
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List


Purchase



"Amazing!"

Fresh Fiction Review

The Someday Daughter
Ellen O'Clover

Reviewed by Maddy Taylor
Posted February 17, 2024

Young Adult

This book was amazing! Ok, in the beginning, I was a little worried that I wasn't going to enjoy it as it was slow to get into. I am so glad that I kept going though. Once I got into it I couldn't put it down. THE SOMEDAY DAUGHTER is a book about a girl named Audrey who is an aspiring doctor. She goes on her mother's book tour through the summer with her. During this summer she learns how to accept herself with all the changes in her life, anxieties and fear of failure. She learns how to love and be loved and to accept family as they are. I love how it shows the difficulties of trying to live up to others' standards for you and the difficulties in sorting out our feelings and showing how our feelings aren't black and white. I recommend picking up this book and giving it a chance. You won't regret it!

Learn more about The Someday Daughter

SUMMARY

Perfect for fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon, Mary H. K. Choi, and Alex Light! From the critically acclaimed author of Seven Percent of Ro Devereux comes another heartrending and nuanced novel about family, love, and the cost of ambition.

Audrey St. Vrain has grown up in the shadow of someone who doesn’t actually exist. Before she was born, her mother, Camilla St. Vrain, wrote the bestselling book Letters to My Someday Daughter, a guide to self-love that advises treating yourself like you would your own hypothetical future daughter. The book made Audrey’s mother a household name, and she built an empire around it.

While the world considers Audrey lucky to have Camilla for a mother, the truth is that Audrey knows a different side of being the someday daughter. Shipped off to boarding school when she was eleven, she feels more like a promotional tool than a member of Camilla’s family. Audrey is determined to create her own identity aside from being Camilla’s daughter, and she’s looking forward to a prestigious summer premed program with her boyfriend before heading to college and finally breaking free from her mother’s world.  

But when Camilla asks Audrey to go on tour with her to promote the book’s anniversary, Audrey can’t help but think that this is the last, best chance to figure out how they fit into each other’s lives—not as the someday daughter and someday mother but as themselves, just as they are. What Audrey doesn’t know is that spending the summer with Camilla and her tour staff—including the disarmingly honest, distressingly cute video intern, Silas—will upset everything she’s so carefully planned for her life.


What do you think about this review?

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: Amazing!

hiiiiiiiiiii
(Rosni Kapoor 3:31am February 18)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

 

 

 

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy