February 25th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
EXPLOSIVE TRAILEXPLOSIVE TRAIL
Fresh Pick
THE TEACHER
THE TEACHER

Sweet Reads in February

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

 


Random House
November 2005
Featuring: Mariah Ellison
208 pages
ISBN: 0345483804
Hardcover
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Powell's Books

In A Christmas Guest, Mariah Ellison, better known as the vinegar-tongued Grandmama from the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series, makes a stunning appearance in a bracing story full of devious delight . . . and certain death. For Grandmama Ellison, Christmas is no reason to celebrate. And when her daughter and son-in-law plan a Christmas vacation to Paris sans hers truly, the cantankerous Grandmama is forced to stay elsewhere–and travels to the chilly, windswept Romney Marshes to spend the holiday with Charlotte Pitt’s parents, Caroline and Joshua Fielding.

Grandmama is immediately miserable. For starters, Christmas with the Fieldings is nothing like the cultured life to which she’s accustomed, and the Romney Marshes are unbearably provincial. When Joshua’s cousin Maude Barrington arrives, Grandmama is at her wit’s end. Although Maude is well traveled and friendly, Grandmama thinks she’s improper and strange. But when Maude is found lifeless in bed, Grandmama senses foul play and takes it upon herself to assume the role of amateur detective–uncovering not only the truth about Maude Barrington but some startling truths about herself as well.

Enlivened with bold characters and vivid, witty writing, A Christmas Guest is yet another holiday novella with the perfect combination of mystery and murder mixed with a generous helping of yuletide cheer.



Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


Union Station UNION STATION
by David Downing
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 24, 2024

In this fascinating historical thriller, a British journalist (and former spy) is adrift in McCarthy-era Los Angeles—until his research into a wartime Read More »

Sometimes it's hard to leave the past behind

Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop WELCOME TO THE HYUNAM-DONG BOOKSHOP
by Hwang Bo-reum
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 23, 2024

The Korean smash hit available for the first time in English, a slice-of-life novel for readers of Matt Haig's The Midnight Library Read More »

A life affirming conversation with a side of Books

Leopard's Hunt LEOPARD'S HUNT
by Christine Feehan
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 22, 2024

In this pulse-pounding novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Leopard series, animal instinct unites two elite shifters whose heads are at war Read More »

In the last moment fate brings them together.

Miracles at Promise Lodge MIRACLES AT PROMISE LODGE
by Charlotte Hubbard
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 21, 2024

Returning to the fan-favorite world of Promise Lodge, the small-town Missouri setting for her beloved Amish inspirational romance novels, Charlotte Hubbard charms readers Read More »

A Fantastic Series Finale!

The Pilot's Secret THE PILOT'S SECRET
by Allison Leigh
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 20, 2024

Sometimes the path to love isn’t a direct flight.Everywhere she turns, nurse Sophie Lane seems to bump into pilot Meyer Cartell. And Read More »

Promising start to a new series

The Proof of the Pudding THE PROOF OF THE PUDDING
by Rhys Bowen
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 19, 2024

Lady Georgiana Rannoch is looking forward to her first ever turn as hostess for her very own house party when the festivities lead to murder Read More »

"Come into the garden, Maud" - but it's a poison garden

Everyone Who Can Forgive Me Is Dead EVERYONE WHO CAN FORGIVE ME IS DEAD
by Jenny Hollander
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 18, 2024

She has everything to live for—and everything to hide. Nine years ago, with the world's eyes on her, Charlie Colbert fled. The Read More »

What really happened that night?

The Lost Dresses THE LOST DRESSES
by M.A. McLaughlin
Featured as Fresh Pick on February 17, 2024

In this rich, atmospheric historical novel, perfect for fans of Brenda Janowitz and Adriana Trigiani, two stories of love and deceit intertwine nearly a hundred Read More »

Two timelines and a poet's love affair in Verona

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy