May 25th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
KISS HARD
KISS HARD

May Blossoms (books) for reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Pick of the Day

A Fresh Fiction favorite is a finalist for the 2010 RWA RITA category Historical Romance. 


All The King's Men #2
Forever
December 2009
On Sale: December 1, 2009
Featuring: Sir Stephen Carleton; Lady Isobel Hume
400 pages
ISBN: 0446553387
EAN: 9780446553384
Mass Market Paperback
Add to Wish List

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Powell's Books

Books-A-Million

Indie BookShop

Book Depository

Ripped Bodice

"4 Stars [A] riveting story, intertwining adventure and history...with a constantly increasing level of sensuality....[A] rare treat." RT Book Reviews

"Margaret Mallory's passionate novel, KNIGHT OF PLEASURE, is an absolute delight for fans of historical romance." Fresh Fiction

"Margaret Mallory bring[s] history to viivd, pulsing life." Virginia Henley, New York Times bestselling author

"A wonderful new voice in the tradition of Gellis and Woodiwiss." Bertrice Small, New York Times bestselling author

THE GREATEST PASSION
Lady Isobel Hume is an expert swordswoman who knows how to choose her battles. When the king asks her to wed a French nobleman to form a political alliance, she agrees. But that's before the devilishly charming Sir Stephen Carleton captures her heart-and tempts her to betray her betrothed, her king, and her country.

IS WORTH THE GREATEST PERIL
Sir Stephen Carleton enjoys his many female admirers-until he dedicates himself to winning the lovely Isobel. So when a threat against the king leads Isobel into mortal danger, Stephen has a chance to prove that he is more than a knight of pleasure...and that love can conquer all.

Excerpt

Whish! Whish! Whish!

The sound interrupted Sir Stephen Carletonfs thoughts as he passed the storeroom. Drawing his sword, he eased the low wooden door open to take a look.

"Lady Hume!"

She looked as surprised as he was to catch her alone in a storeroom attacking a sack of grain with a sword.

"The poor thing is defenseless," he said, cocking his head toward the sack. Grain was seeping onto the dirt floor from several small tears.

"Close the door!" she hissed. "I cannot be seen here."

And what a sight she was, with her cheeks flushed and strands of dark hair sticking to her face and neck. God preserve him. He stepped inside and firmly closed the door behind him.

"I meant for you to remain outside when you closed it."

Though she took a step back as she spoke, she kept a firm hand on her sword. As she should. Aye, the lady had every reason to feel nervous at finding herself alone with a man in this secluded place.

"That sack cannot provide much of a challenge," he said, trying to put her at ease.

"You make fun of me." There was resentment in her tone, but he was pleased to see her shoulders relax.

"Now, do you want to continue playing at sword fighting?" he asked, deliberately baiting her. "Or do you want to learn how to protect yourself from someone who intends you harm?"

Green eyes sparking with fire, she raised her sword and said, "Teach me."

Oh, what he would love to teach her! God help him, she was breathtaking like this.

"You should carry a short blade, as well," he instructed as he fended off her attack.

"Why? You think you can knock my sword from my hand? "

"I can, but I will not have to. You will drop it."

She fought better angry, a good quality in a fighter.

Still, he was better. Much better. He forced her to step back, and back, and back again. Once more, and her heel caught on a sack. She threw her hands up, sending the sword clattering against the wall as she tumbled backward.

The next moment, she was lying back on her elbows, her hair loose about her shoulders, skirts askew, chest heaving.

Stephen could not move, could not even breathe.

She looked like a goddess. A wanton Venus, sprawled on the dirt floor at his feet. Then she threw her head back and laughed. Not a light trill, but a full-throated, joyful laugh that made his heart soar.

"I'm afraid you have the advantage of me," she said, her eyes dancing. She reached her hand up for him to help her to her feet.

He took it and sank to his knees beside her.

"Not true, Isobel," he said in a harsh whisper. "'Tis I who am at your mercy."

His eyes fixed on her lips, full and parted. Well beyond thought now, he gave in to the inexorable pull toward them. The moment their lips touched, fire seared through him.

He tried to hang on to the thin thread of caution tugging at his conscience. But she was kissing him back, mouth open, her tongue seeking his. His ears roared as she put her arms around his neck and pulled him down.

He cushioned the back of her head with his hand before it touched the dirt floor. Leaning over her, he gave himself wholly to kissing her. He splayed his hands into her hair and rained kisses along her jaw and down her throat, then returned to her mouth again.

The sweet taste of her, the smell of her filled his senses. He was mindless of anything except her mouth, her face, her hair, his burning need to touch her.

He ran his hand down her side to the swell of her hip. When she moaned, he knew he had to feel her beneath him. Beneath him, pressed against him. Skin to skin.

Slowly, he lowered his body until he felt the soft fullness of her breasts against his chest. Sweet heaven! Oh God, the little sounds she was making. He let himself sink down further and groaned aloud as his swollen shaft pressed against her hip.

There was a reason he must not do what he wanted to do, but he could not recall it. And did not want to try.

The breath went out of him in a whoosh as he cupped the rounded softness of her breast in his hand. It felt so wondrously good he had to squeeze his eyes shut.

He froze the instant he felt the prick of cold steel against his neck.

"You are right," she said so close to his ear that he could feel her breath, "'tis wise to carry a short blade."





Fresh Picks

Our Past Week of Fresh Picks


The Emma Project THE EMMA PROJECT
by Sonali Dev
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 24, 2022

Emma gets a fresh Indian-American twist from award-winning author Sonali Dev in her heartwarmingly irresistible Jane Austen inspired rom com series Read More »

Indian-American rom com brings competing philanthropists together

Smile Beach Murder SMILE BEACH MURDER
by Alicia Bessette
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 23, 2022

When Callie is laid off from her reporting job, she returns to her hometown of Cattail Island and lands a gig at the local bookstore Read More »

Suspense driven mystery begins new series...

The Perfect Mystery to Kickstart Your Summer Reading!

The Lost Summers of Newport THE LOST SUMMERS OF NEWPORT
by Karen White, Lauren Willig, Beatriz Williams
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 22, 2022

2019: Andie Figuero has just landed her dream job as a producer of Mansion Makeover, a popular reality show about restoring America’s most Read More »

Three mysteries entwine over time with love, murder, and family lies

Clive Cussler's Dark Vector CLIVE CUSSLER'S DARK VECTOR
by Graham Brown
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 21, 2022

 A freighter carrying top-secret computers of unparalleled capability disappears in the Western Pacific. While searching for a lost treasure that once belonged to Read More »

Top of Class 5 star action! Impossible to put book down!

The Long Weekend THE LONG WEEKEND
by Gilly Macmillan
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 20, 2022

"Fast-paced and incredibly compelling . . . this book will not let you put it down." — SHARI LAPENA In this pulse-pounding thriller from the  Read More »

Who can be trusted?

Immortal Rising IMMORTAL RISING
by Lynsay Sands
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 19, 2022

The Argeneaus are back! Filled with love, passion, and adventure, New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands returns with another sexy romance about everyone Read More »

A couple who seem made for each other and a mad scientist lurking in the shadows!

All the Duke I Need ALL THE DUKE I NEED
by Caroline Linden
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 18, 2022

The third book in the clever, sexy Desperately Seeking Duke series from USA Today bestselling and RITA Award–winning author Caroline Linden Read More »

Family scandal keeps an heiress and an estate manager’s love imperiled

This May End Badly THIS MAY END BADLY
by Samantha Markum
Featured as Fresh Pick on May 17, 2022

Pranking mastermind Doe and her motley band of Weston girls are determined to win the century-long war against Winfield Academy before the clock ticks Read More »

A must-read for YA fans!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy