February 27th, 2024
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
RUNAWAY
RUNAWAY

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Leap Year Giveaways


Sweet Reads in February

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Rumors aren't the only thing that will stir when Abigail returns to Boone County, Texas.


slideshow image
From Loss to Love: A Pilot and an Artist's Colliding Worlds


slideshow image
Caffeine and Commitments: Stirring Up Love in San Francisco


slideshow image
"Her biggest fan �has a fatal obsession."


slideshow image
Bloodlines and Boardrooms: A Paranormal Romance of Power and Passion


slideshow image
A new, action-packed adventure that blends science-fiction technology and magical fantasy elements with a touch of historical romance.


The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by R.F. Kuang:

Babel, August 2023
Paperback / e-Book
Yellowface, May 2023
Hardcover / e-Book
Babel, September 2022
Hardcover / e-Book
The Dragon Republic, July 2020
Paperback / e-Book (reprint)
The Dragon Republic, August 2019
Hardcover / e-Book
The Poppy War, May 2018
Hardcover / e-Book

The Poppy War
R.F. Kuang

Harper Voyager
May 2018
On Sale: May 1, 2018
544 pages
ISBN: 0062662562
EAN: 9780062662569
Kindle: B072L58JW6
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Military | Fantasy Historical

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy. When Rin aced the Keju—the Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academies—it was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldn’t believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rin’s guardians, who believed they’d finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegard— the most elite military school in Nikan—was even more surprising. But surprises aren’t always good. Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly power—an aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much alive—and that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school. For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . . Rin’s shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2024 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy