July 9th, 2020
Home | Log in!

Fresh Pick
FLAME
FLAME

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Summer Days, Summer Nights


Hot, sizzling reads for July

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Cowboys who thrill outside the arena as much as in.


slideshow image
Spy school for young ladies in Jane Austen’s world.


slideshow image
He’d give his life for her, but his heart was never part of the bargain


slideshow image
Can happily ever after exist somewhere between virtue and valor?


slideshow image
With his K-9 partner at his side, can he survive false accusations and a bomber?


slideshow image
Two people inexplicably drawn to each other even though they have almost nothing in common.


slideshow image
Rogues & Remarkable Women


Vegas Girls
Heather Skyler


Skyhorse
October 2016
On Sale: October 4, 2016
348 pages
ISBN: 1510710833
EAN: 9781510710832
Kindle: B01HDVCF4C
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Women's Fiction

For Fans of Julia Glass and Ann Hood, a Novel about How the Choices We Make Last a Lifetime

Vegas Girls begins when three former high school friends, now in their mid-thirties, reunite in their hometown of Las Vegas—a city they vowed to escape as soon as they could—to celebrate their new lives and revisit old haunts. But what starts out as a week-long, sun-kissed reunion takes a strange turn as mysterious gifts appear, familiar faces pop up in unexpected places, and each woman reveals a secret, private quest.

Ramona is searching for a son she gave up for adoption before their high-school graduation. Jane is trying to leave her husband of eleven years, even with her two kids in tow. And Ivy, who has a new baby, is haunted by the memory of her mother abandoning her twenty years ago—and she has begun spotting her everywhere. Add to this a darkly charismatic ex-boyfriend of Ivy’s who won’t give up hope of rekindling their romance, and a strange, new friend of Jane’s in need of help, and the week quickly begins to unravel.

Set against desert heat, swimming pools, and casino lights, and told masterfully through five different points of view, Vegas Girls is about how we navigate the present while carrying the ghosts of our past; about growing up with one eye glued to the rearview mirror; and about what happens when the past you thought you left behind turns out to have been with you all along.

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction—novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy