July 11th, 2020
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Jennifer EstepJennifer Estep
Fresh Pick
HOW THE PENGUINS SAVED VERONICA
HOW THE PENGUINS SAVED VERONICA

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Summer Days, Summer Nights


Hot, sizzling reads for July

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Cowboys who thrill outside the arena as much as in.


slideshow image
Spy school for young ladies in Jane Austen’s world.


slideshow image
He’d give his life for her, but his heart was never part of the bargain


slideshow image
Can happily ever after exist somewhere between virtue and valor?


slideshow image
With his K-9 partner at his side, can he survive false accusations and a bomber?


slideshow image
Two people inexplicably drawn to each other even though they have almost nothing in common.


slideshow image
Rogues & Remarkable Women


The Vatican Princess by C.W. Gortner

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by C.W. Gortner:

The First Actress, June 2020
Hardcover / e-Book
The Romanov Empress, July 2019
Trade Size
The Romanov Empress, July 2018
Hardcover / e-Book
Marlene, June 2016
Hardcover / e-Book
The Vatican Princess, February 2016
Hardcover / e-Book
Mademoiselle Chanel, March 2015
Hardcover / e-Book
The Tudor Vendetta, November 2014
Paperback / e-Book
The Tudor Conspiracy, July 2013
Hardcover / e-Book
The Queen's Vow, June 2012
Hardcover / e-Book
The Confessions Of Catherine De Medici, June 2011
Paperback
The Tudor Secret, February 2011
Paperback / e-Book
The Last Queen, May 2009
Paperback

The Vatican Princess
C.W. Gortner

Ballantine
February 2016
On Sale: February 9, 2016
388 pages
ISBN: 0345533976
EAN: 9780345533975
Kindle: B00XSSMKC2
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty’s ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival?

With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father’s elevation are the new pope’s illegitimate children—his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia—each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family’s fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment’s notice as Italy’s ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia’s father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood.

Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia’s coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2020 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy