September 24th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LAST STRANDLAST STRAND
Fresh Pick
THE WARSAW ORPHAN
THE WARSAW ORPHAN

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Best reads for September

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A sidesplitting, enemies-to-lovers 101 Dalmatians-inspired romantic comedy


slideshow image
Cowboys live by their word, their wits, and their loyalty.


slideshow image
How much will she risk to keep her perfect life?


slideshow image
Garrett will use every tender weapon to seduce her—and prove she’s worthy of true love.


slideshow image
The Albertini family has no intention of letting a possible romance fizzle out


slideshow image
Lady Mary's traveling companion has disappeared and only one man believes she ever existed.


Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Julia Heaberlin:

We Are All the Same in the Dark, August 2020
Hardcover / e-Book
Paper Ghosts, May 2018
Hardcover / e-Book
Black-Eyed Susans, August 2015
Hardcover / e-Book
Playing Dead, June 2012
Trade Size / e-Book

Black-Eyed Susans
Julia Heaberlin

Ballantine
August 2015
On Sale: August 11, 2015
Featuring: Tessa Cartwright
368 pages
ISBN: 0804177996
EAN: 9780804177993
Kindle: B00P5557PI
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Suspense

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

Read An Excerpt

Media Buzz

Good Morning Texas - Buy The Book - September 17, 2021

Comments

1 comment posted.

Re: Black-Eyed Susans

The weather here is perfect to curl up with a book like this!! Overcast with thundershowers predicted - the perfect setting for reading a real thriller!! How I wish the excerpt had kept on going, but for now, I have to put this book on my TBR list, and get to it real soon!! I can understand why it's being named the read of the Summer!! Congratulations on your book, and I know that this will be one book that I'll be savoring, and probably passing around to a couple of people I know!!
(Peggy Roberson 12:21pm August 10, 2015)

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy