May 28th, 2023
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
YOU CAN HIDEYOU CAN HIDE
Fresh Pick
THE BOYFRIEND CANDIDATE
THE BOYFRIEND CANDIDATE

New Books This Week

Fresh Fiction Box

Video Book Club

Summer Kick-Off Contests


May Books for you!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A Prim Bookseller�
A Tough PI Ghost�
A Hauntingly Good Mystery!


slideshow image
She�s got a knack�for roping in hearts.


slideshow image
A mother and daughter learn to endure life�s twists and turns as they grieve a loss and face an uncertain future.


slideshow image
Will their cruise turn deadly?


slideshow image
Heart stings can be the most dangerous wounds of all...


slideshow image
She disappears on the eve of her wedding. Can he find her?


Pieces of Blue
Holly Goldberg Sloan

Flatiron Books
May 2023
On Sale: May 9, 2023
Featuring: Paul Hill; Lindsey
272 pages
ISBN: 1250847303
EAN: 9781250847300
Kindle: B0B9KSD5GB
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Thriller Domestic | Women's Fiction

From New York Times bestselling author Holly Goldberg Sloan, a hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub about a family trying to restore a ramshackle beachside motel—and their own lives

What good was thinking the future only held cloudy skies? Wasn’t the reality that pieces of blue were always there, waiting to break through?

When Paul Hill drowns in a surfing accident, his broken-hearted wife, Lindsey, and their three children are left in huge financial trouble. Once Paul’s life insurance finally comes through, Lindsey impulsively uses the money to buy a charmingly ramshackle motel in Hawai’i, hoping for a fresh start. Teenage Olivia quickly develops a crush on a handsome but monosyllabic skateboarder. Twelve-year-old Carlos reinvents himself as a popular kid named Carl. And Sena, the youngest, will do whatever it takes to protect her beloved motel chickens.

But while the kids adjust, Lindsey is flailing, trying to pretend she knows how to bring a motel—and herself—back to life. Then a handsome stranger rolls into the motel parking lot, and she’s surprised to feel a long-dormant part of herself stirring. She accepts his offer to help, unaware that he may have secrets of his own. And all the while, out in the Pacific, the trade winds are fiercely blowing.

Funny and tender, full of twists and turns and heart, Pieces of Blue is a portrait of an irresistible family learning to start over.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2023 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy