August 15th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
TEAR DOWN THE THRONETEAR DOWN THE THRONE
Fresh Pick
MUNCHIES AND MURDER
MUNCHIES AND MURDER

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club

YouTube


Hot Hot reads in August

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A mysterious story of inter-generational trauma.


slideshow image
For a woman obsessed and a killer in her shadow, remembering the past becomes a mind game in a novel of psychological suspense


slideshow image
Danger and Mistletoe are a Deadly Combination


slideshow image
Danger and Mistletoe are a Deadly Combination


slideshow image
Vicious evil stalks two Guardians of Eternity, waiting to attack where they never expected . . .


slideshow image
New state. New job. Same inner demons.


slideshow image
A shapeshifter and member of the Blackfoot tribe, rescues a beautiful woman, but the signs in the stars tell him her arrival in his world is not accidental.


slideshow image
Must he kill her to punish the murderer?


Widowland
C.J. Carey

Sourcebooks Landmark
August 2022
On Sale: August 9, 2022
432 pages
ISBN: 1728248442
EAN: 9781728248448
Kindle: B09L3WPPMN
Trade Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Science Fiction Alternate History

For readers of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Philip K. Dick's The Man in the High Castle comes a thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternative history that terrifyingly imagines what a British alliance with Germany would look like if the Nazis had won WWII.

To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

LONDON, 1953. Thirteen years have passed since England surrendered to the Nazis and formed a Grand Alliance with Germany. It was forced to adopt many of its oppressive ideologies, one of which was the strict classification of women into hierarchical groups based on the perceived value they brought to society.

Rose Ransom, a member of the privileged Geli class, remembers life from before the war but knows better than to let it show. She works for the Ministry of Culture, rewriting the classics of English literature to ensure there are no subversive thoughts that will give women any ideas.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country with graffiti made up of seditious lines from forbidden works by women painted on public buildings. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. Rose is given the dangerous task of infiltrating Widowland to find the source of the rebellion before the Leader arrives in England for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward VIII and Queen Wallis. Will Rose follow her instructions and uncover the criminals? Or will she fight for what she knows in her heart is right?

With wit, suspense, and sheer originality, C. J. Carey has crafted an eerie story of "what if" that explores how some systems of female control cherished by the Nazis would have developed in a German-occupied England.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy