June 26th, 2022
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Rebecca ZannettiRebecca Zannetti
Fresh Pick
THE MESSY LIVES OF BOOK PEOPLE
THE MESSY LIVES OF BOOK PEOPLE

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Video Book Club


Summer reads begin in June!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Two determined souls plumb the dark depths of the past in order to forge a brighter future--together.


slideshow image
"He could see her face. And she couldn’t breathe…"


slideshow image
Can a chance meeting open a grieving heart to love?


slideshow image
When the going gets tough, the tough get their hands dirty.


slideshow image
RUN. HIDE. SEEK.


slideshow image
Channeling Indiana Jones, author Kat Martin pairs a woman in search of her family's truth with a hard-hitting professional treasure hunter!


Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter
Lizzie Pook

Simon & Schuster
June 2022
On Sale: June 14, 2022
Featuring: Eliza Brightwell
ISBN: 1982180498
EAN: 9781982180492
Kindle: B09JPDVTK1
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

For readers of The Light Between Oceans and The Island of Sea Women, a feminist adventure story set against the backdrop of the dangerous pearl diving industry in 19th-century Western Australia, about a young English woman who sets off to uncover the truth about the disappearance of her eccentric father.

Western Australia, 1886. After months at sea, a slow boat makes its passage from London to the shores of Bannin Bay. From the deck, young Eliza Brightwell and her family eye their strange, new home. Here is an unforgiving land where fortune sits patiently at the bottom of the ocean, waiting to be claimed by those brave enough to venture into its depths. An ocean where pearl shells bloom to the size of soup plates, where men are coaxed into unthinkable places and unspeakable acts by the promise of unimaginable riches.

Ten years later, the pearl-diving boat captained by Eliza’s eccentric father returns after months at sea—without Eliza’s father on it. Whispers from townsfolk point to mutiny or murder. Headstrong Eliza knows it’s up to her to discover who, or what, is really responsible.

As she searches for the truth, Eliza discovers that beneath the glamorous veneer of the pearling industry, lies a dark underbelly of sweltering, stinking decay. The sun-scorched streets of Bannin Bay, a place she once thought she knew so well, are teeming with corruption, prejudice, and blackmail. Just how far is Eliza willing to push herself in order to solve the mystery of her missing father? And what family secrets will come to haunt her along the way?

A transporting feminist adventure story based on Lizzie Pook’s deep research into the pearling industry and the era of British colonial rule in Australia, Moonlight and the Pearler’s Daughter is ultimately about the lengths one woman will travel to save her family.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2022 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy