September 21st, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Sandra BrownSandra Brown
Fresh Pick
FORGOTTEN IN DEATH
FORGOTTEN IN DEATH

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Best reads for September

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A sidesplitting, enemies-to-lovers 101 Dalmatians-inspired romantic comedy


slideshow image
Cowboys live by their word, their wits, and their loyalty.


slideshow image
How much will she risk to keep her perfect life?


slideshow image
Garrett will use every tender weapon to seduce her—and prove she’s worthy of true love.


slideshow image
The Albertini family has no intention of letting a possible romance fizzle out


slideshow image
Lady Mary's traveling companion has disappeared and only one man believes she ever existed.


Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters
Dan SaSuWeh Jones

Scholastic Nonfiction
September 2021
On Sale: September 7, 2021
176 pages
ISBN: 1338681605
EAN: 9781338681604
Kindle: B08WHCDY21
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Young Adult Paranormal

Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian nations.

 

Dark figures in the night. An owl's cry on the wind. Monsters watching from the edge of the wood.

 

Some of the creatures in these pages might only have a message for you, but some are the stuff of nightmares. These thirty-two short stories -- from tales passed down for generations to accounts that could have happened yesterday -- are collected from the thriving tradition of ghost stories in American Indian cultures across North America. Prepare for stories of witches and walking dolls, hungry skeletons, La Llorona and Deer Woman, and other supernatural beings ready to chill you to the bone.

 

Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca Nation) tells of his own encounters and selects his favorite spooky, eerie, surprising, and spine-tingling stories, all paired with haunting art by Weshoyot Alvitre (Tongva).

 

So dim the lights (or maybe turn them all on) and pick up a story...if you dare.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy