July 23rd, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
BURN YOU TWICEBURN YOU TWICE
Fresh Pick
FALLING IN LOVE ON WILLOW CREEK
FALLING IN LOVE ON WILLOW CREEK

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Summer reading in July you need to start

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Can a fairy garden shop owner and her sleuth fairy sidekick solve this murder?


slideshow image
Someone in London is cooking up murder …


slideshow image
Sometimes the biggest emotional risk reaps the best romantic reward…


slideshow image
A riveting new novel about family, secrets, and a woman ready to embrace who she really is by facing down her past.


slideshow image
Now in paperback! New York Times bestseller Cleo Coyle's "delightfully twisty" Coffeehouse Mystery


slideshow image
The Demon Hunters are about to face their biggest test, and they’ll need a lady to make the grade…


Stupid Things I Won't Do When I Get Old
Steven Petrow

Citadel
July 2021
On Sale: June 29, 2021
272 pages
ISBN: 0806541008
EAN: 9780806541006
Kindle: B08KL58Q4X
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fiction Family Life

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist Steven Petrow.

Soon after his 50th birthday, Steven Petrow began assembling a list of “things I won’t do when I get old”—mostly a catalog of all the things he thought his then 70-something year old parents were doing wrong. That list, which included “You won’t have to shout at me that I’m deaf,” and “I won’t blame the family dog for my incontinence,” became the basis of this rousing collection of do’s and don’ts, wills and won’ts that is equal parts hilarious, honest, and practical.

The fact is, we don’t want to age the way previous generations did. “Old people” hoard. They bore relatives—and strangers—with tales of their aches and pains. They insist on driving long after they’ve become a danger to others (and themselves). They eat dinner at 4pm. They swear they don’t need a cane or walker (and guess what happens next). They never, ever apologize. But there is another way . . .

In Stupid Things I Won’t Do When I Get Old, Petrow candidly addresses the fears, frustrations, and stereotypes that accompany aging. He offers a blueprint for the new old age, and an understanding that aging and illness are not the same. As he writes, “I meant the list to serve as a pointed reminder—to me—to make different choices when I eventually cross the threshold to ‘old.’”

Getting older is a privilege. This essential guide reveals how to do it with grace, wisdom, humor, and hope. And without hoarding.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy