June 14th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
Kathy LyonsKathy Lyons
Fresh Pick
THE GHOST AND THE HAUNTED PORTRAIT
THE GHOST AND THE HAUNTED PORTRAIT

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Pick up great June books for summer reading

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A theme-park princess. A real-life prince.


slideshow image
Can two stubborn adults let down their guard long enough to let love in again?


slideshow image
A modern-day fairy tale of hope and rescue from NYT bestselling author Rachel Hauck


slideshow image
A journey to the lush vineyards of Tuscany—and into the mysteries of a tragic family secret.


slideshow image
Can a one-time enemy to protect them?


slideshow image
When the battle is for love, the one who surrenders wins. But who will lay down arms first? And whose heart will break wide open?


The Unwilling
Kelly Braffet

MIRA
June 2021
On Sale: May 25, 2021
608 pages
ISBN: 0778388247
EAN: 9780778388241
Kindle: B0867N71L2
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical | Fantasy

Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Robin Hobb and George R.R. Martin

 

She has no name and no history, but she has a power greater than the Empire has ever known.

 

Thanks to her special gift Judah has enjoyed a privileged life, being raised alongside Gavin, the son and heir to Lord Elban's vast empire. But as they grow Judah comes to realise that while Gavin is being groomed for his future role, she has no true position, and no hope of ever travelling beyond the castle walls. Lord Elban has plans for Judah – for all of them – but to him, she's nothing but a pawn. And he will stop at nothing to get what he wants.

But he's not the only one with plans. Outside the castle wall – in the starving, desperate city – is a healer with his own secret power and his own plans for the empire . . . and Judah.

The girl who started life with no name and no history will soon uncover more to her story than she ever imagined.

An epic tale of greed and ambition, cruelty and love, this deeply immersive novel is about bowing to traditions and burning them down.
___________

What people are saying about The Unwilling:

'Fantasy at its most sublime' ERIN MORGENSTERN

'An epic fantasy novel with ingenious, thrilling twists and turns' KELLY LINK

'Brilliantly executedThe Unwilling is about sharing joy, and sensing fear and cruelty, and caring beyond ourselves' VANITY FAIR

'Suspenseful: magical, wonderfully written and never predictable . . . An essential addition to the all epic fantasy collectionsBOOKLIST

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy