June 15th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
WHERE THERES A WILLWHERE THERES A WILL
Fresh Pick
HANG THE MOON
HANG THE MOON

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application


Pick up great June books for summer reading

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A theme-park princess. A real-life prince.


slideshow image
Can two stubborn adults let down their guard long enough to let love in again?


slideshow image
A modern-day fairy tale of hope and rescue from NYT bestselling author Rachel Hauck


slideshow image
A journey to the lush vineyards of Tuscany—and into the mysteries of a tragic family secret.


slideshow image
Can a one-time enemy to protect them?


slideshow image
When the battle is for love, the one who surrenders wins. But who will lay down arms first? And whose heart will break wide open?


The Girl from the Island
Lorna Cook

Avon
June 2021
On Sale: May 25, 2021
400 pages
ISBN: 0008379068
EAN: 9780008379063
Kindle: B087DVHLV4
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

The brilliant new emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise

______________

A world at war.
One woman will risk everything.
Another will uncover her story.

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Kathleen McGurl.

Praise for The Girl from the Island

‘With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended’ Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan 

'Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII' Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife 
 
‘A book to get lost in… Love, suspense and a page-turning story’ Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy bestselling author
 
‘A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey’s past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way’ Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea  
 
‘A sweeping tale of love and courage, The Girl from the Island is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it’ Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair 

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy