April 14th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
A SENSE OF DANGERA SENSE OF DANGER
Fresh Pick
HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SCOT
HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SCOT

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

April Showers Giveaways


April showers are here, settle with a great read!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
"Engrossing procedural…gorgeous Greek life”—Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW


slideshow image
A lottery winner uses her good fortune to save a local pet sanctuary, but when a body is discovered on the property, she just might be in the doghouse


slideshow image
A dashing suitor must decide if love and marriage are mutually exclusive


slideshow image
These members of the peerage are young, beautiful and full of trouble... the sort that might just get a lord or lady ruined.


slideshow image
In a scorching novel of obsession and revenge, Mary Burton ignites fear in the heart of a woman targeted by a killer who knows her secrets.


slideshow image
A mountain search-and-rescue mission turns into a fight for their lives.


slideshow image
When he sets out to regain his family’s heritage, he never expects to lose his heart.


The House of Deep Water
Jeni McFarland

G.P. Putnam's Sons
April 2021
On Sale: April 13, 2021
368 pages
ISBN: 0525542361
EAN: 9780525542360
Kindle: B07VN1XWY3
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Other Editions
Hardcover (May 2020)

Women's Fiction Contemporary

Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, in this stunning and perceptive debut novel three women learn what it means to come home--and to make peace with the family, love affairs, and memories they'd once left behind.

"Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching. . . . Reminiscent of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation." --Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble

River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can't imagine leaving, but three women couldn't wait to escape. When each must return--Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend's only black daughters, now a mother of two who'd planned to raise her own children anywhere else--their paths collide under Beth's father's roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past.

Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy