April 10th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
DISORDERLY CONDUCTDISORDERLY CONDUCT
Fresh Pick
NOT DARK YET
NOT DARK YET

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Reviewer Application

Events


April showers are here, settle with a great read!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
"Engrossing procedural…gorgeous Greek life”—Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW


slideshow image
A lottery winner uses her good fortune to save a local pet sanctuary, but when a body is discovered on the property, she just might be in the doghouse


slideshow image
A dashing suitor must decide if love and marriage are mutually exclusive


slideshow image
These members of the peerage are young, beautiful and full of trouble... the sort that might just get a lord or lady ruined.


slideshow image
In a scorching novel of obsession and revenge, Mary Burton ignites fear in the heart of a woman targeted by a killer who knows her secrets.


slideshow image
A mountain search-and-rescue mission turns into a fight for their lives.


slideshow image
When he sets out to regain his family’s heritage, he never expects to lose his heart.


All the Children Are Home
Patry Francis

Harper Perennial
April 2021
On Sale: April 13, 2021
384 pages
ISBN: 0063045451
EAN: 9780063045453
Kindle: B08CWGPPS6
Paperback / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fiction | Coming of Age

A sweeping saga in the vein of Ask Again, Yes following a foster family through almost a decade of dazzling triumph and wrenching heartbreak—from the author of The Orphans at Race Point.

Set in the late 1950s through 1960s in a small town in Massachusetts, All the Children Are Home follows the Moscatelli family—Dahlia and Louie, foster parents, and their long-term foster children Jimmy, Zaidie, and Jon—and the irrevocable changes in their lives when a six-year-old indigenous girl, Agnes,  comes to live with them.

When Dahlia decided to become a foster mother, she had a few caveats: no howling newborns, no delinquents, and above all, no girls. A harrowing incident years before left her a virtual prisoner in her own home, forever wary of the heartbreak and limitation of a girl’s life.

Eleven years after they began fostering, Dahlia and Louie consider their family complete, but when the social worker begs them to take a young girl who has been horrifically abused and neglected, they can’t say no.

 

Six-year-old Agnes Juniper arrives with no knowledge of her Native American heritage or herself beyond a box of trinkets given to her by her mother and dreamlike memories of her sister. As the years pass and outside forces threaten to tear them apart, the children, now young adults, must find the courage and resilience to save themselves and each other. Heartfelt and enthralling, All the Children Are Home is a moving testament to the enduring power of love in the face of devastating loss.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy