March 5th, 2021
Home | Log in!

On Top Shelf
LAST STRANDLAST STRAND
Fresh Pick
THE RESTORATION OF CELIA FAIRCHILD
THE RESTORATION OF CELIA FAIRCHILD

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Grab your best read in March!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
A gift from the gods…
Can unleash hell…
in a thrilling Night Rebel novel


slideshow image
They’re hunting a killer so silent, so invisible, that his unspeakable crimes are the only proof he exists.


slideshow image
Second-chance romance about love, loss, finding yourself, and getting lost in the right person.


slideshow image
Wise and witty novel about a fired advice columnist who discovers lost and found family members in Charleston


slideshow image
Paranormal Women's Fantasy
KindleUnlimited


slideshow image
Every bloody thread has been leading to this . . .


slideshow image
Can an awkward bluestocking transform into a beauty?


The Body on the Train by Frances Brody

Purchase

Add to Wish List


Also by Frances Brody:

The Body on the Train, February 2021
Trade Size / e-Book
Murder is in the Air, October 2020
Hardcover / e-Book
A Snapshot of Murder, April 2019
Hardcover / e-Book
Death in the Stars, February 2018
Hardcover / e-Book
Death at the Seaside, September 2017
Hardcover / e-Book
Death of an Avid Reader, September 2017
Trade Size / e-Book
Murder on a Summer's Day, February 2017
Trade Size / e-Book (reprint)
A Death in the Dales, February 2017
Hardcover / e-Book
Death of an Avid Reader, September 2016
Hardcover / e-Book
Murder on a Summer's Day, February 2016
Hardcover / e-Book
A Woman Unknown, February 2015
Hardcover / e-Book
Murder in the Afternoon, February 2015
Paperback / e-Book (reprint)
Murder In The Afternoon, February 2014
Hardcover / e-Book
A Medal For Murder, January 2014
Paperback / e-Book (reprint)
Dying In The Wool, February 2013
Hardcover / e-Book
A Medal For Murder, February 2013
Hardcover / e-Book
Dying In The Wool, February 2012
Hardcover / e-Book

The Body on the Train
Frances Brody

Kate Shackleton Series #11
Crooked Lane Books
February 2021
On Sale: February 9, 2021
ISBN: 1643856782
EAN: 9781643856780
Kindle: B07QYTRR24
Trade Size / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Fiction Family Life | Mystery Private Eye | Mystery Woman Sleuth

'Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive' Ann Cleeves

1929, London.

In the darkness before dawn, a London railway porter discovers a man's body as he unloads a special goods train from Yorkshire, all means of identification stripped away. Hitting a dead end, Scotland Yard call on indomitable sleuth Kate Shackleton, hoping her local Yorkshire knowledge and undoubted skills at winkling out information will produce the results they need.

1929, Yorkshire.

Fears of unrest in the Yorkshire coalfields mean that Kate must conduct her investigation with the utmost secrecy. But when she discovers that another murder occurred around the same time as the mysterious body on the train, she is convinced there must be a connection. Using her sharp instincts and persuasive charm, she begins to uncover a web of intrigue that edges her closer to the truth. But with attempts being made on her life, Kate needs all the strength and resourcefulness she can muster, before she becomes the next victim . . .

Whether you've read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about the Kate Shackleton mysteries:

'Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine' Ann Granger

'Delightful' People's Friend

'Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish' Barry Turner, Daily Mail

'Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters' RT Book Reviews

'Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences' Literary Review

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2021 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy